Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Terry Sanford High
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
With little resources, my honors biology teacher did the best she could. I was still very unprepared for AP.

Terry Sanford High
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
There are a couple diamonds in the rough, but most have retired. The math department is horrible. However, I believe most of the problem teachers have recently been let go. The Global Studies program is a joke and several teachers entire jobs are to coordinate for it or teach classes related to it and it's a huge waste of money because its useless. Its just free credit but it does nothing to prepare students for college.


Terry Sanford High
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
Classes are easy and do nothing for college prep. An online school or home school would be much better.

Terry Sanford High
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
Again, bullying is prevalent and nothing substantial is done about it. The staff does not care. Money is the only way to have an okay experience at the school.

Terry Sanford High
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a student
Bullying is very prevalent and the administrators don't care because they're all friends with the parents of the bullies and they protect them.


Terry Sanford High 1

Posted June 11, 2015
- a community member
They don't have special ed and they let my son flunk English and he never knew what was going on in any of the other classes. My son was in spec ed in Michigan but they didn't have it hear and Cumberland County Schools said they didn't have resource classes, self-contained classes here but they could meet his needs but they did not and the English teacher never had the time for him and she had about 30 or more kids in that co-taught class. There weren't even two classes in that co-taught class like co-taught classes are suppose to be. I'm pissed! I moved because I knew he would flunk one of those classes. He barely passed Civics too. We moved into Cape Fear school dist because this school doesn't do anything. I went to the assist principal, counselor, special ed head and no one ever helped him! If you have spec ed kids, don't send them here and don't listen to Cumberland County Schools when they say any school can meet a spec ed students needs because it's not true. We moved to Cape Fear School Dist. I'm hoping he will get more help there and I know they have spec ed! My son never knew what was going on or couldn't do any of the work since we moved here from Michigan in March!

Terry Sanford High 3

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
Academically Terry Sanford is a good school. I had three children attend this school and they were not really treated fairly. The only way to be treated fairly is if you grew up in Fayetteville your entire life and had family members who previously went to that school. If you are military and are new to that school then don't plan on your child getting any playing time in the sports there. It doesn't matter how good at a sport they may be. I would recommend looking into another school that are equally good academically and treat everyone as equals in the athletic department. If I had it to do all over again I would not send my children to that school and put them through the humility they felt and the mistreatment I feel they received. Thankfully I don't live there anymore and will not have to worry about it any longer.

Terry Sanford High 2

Posted July 01, 2014
- a student
I attended Terry Sanford for both my freshman and sophomore years and am overjoyed to leave this school. Here are a few reasons why I believe that this school is below average. 1. Most of the staff in the front of the school are not friendly or helpful, especially the counseling department. I made an appointment to change my schedule a week in advance but had to wait half an hour while the counselors were joking around in the back. When I finally saw my counselor she tried to wave me off for another few days. Do not expect the majority of the staff in the main office or counseling office to be polite and helpful unless you have some sort of standing within the school or if your family has some standing within the community. 2. The Global Studies program that the school is known for is not as good as it is made out to be. The administration is very inconsistent about its policies. It has a strict only honors classes policy but some students manage to take basic classes. This all comes back to the favoritism and your social standing. 3. Some of the teachers just refuse to teach. Honors English 1 is a joke. 4. It is not military friendly. I do not recommend this school.


Terry Sanford High 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Terry Sanford is one of the better High Schools in Cumberland County. Lots of academic competition and the colleges know it has a solid curriculum. Current principle has pulled school together nicely.

Terry Sanford High 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a student
I attended FTS my sophomore year and at the beginning of my junior year. I definitely agree with previous posts that state that kids should watch what they bring to school and behave. The principal who was at FTS during my time had no clue what she was doing. Things got so out of hand. Students constantly engaged in altercations with other students/teachers. At the beginning of my junior year the school got so bad that she quit. Great programs, but the school is a MESS and I am glad to be at one of the better county schools.

Nearby schools

Terry Sanford High
2301 Fort Bragg Rd, Fayetteville, NC  28303
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (910) 484-1151
Last modified Terry Sanford High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top