Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Macon Elementary

Public | PK-4 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2009

I have two boys that attend South Macon. We had as awesome year! My youngest son was in Mrs. Cristy Passmore and Frances Beck's Developmental Kindergarten and excelled. He was not ready for Kindergarten last year , but after spending a blessed year with these two wonderful teachers is ready for 'big' kindergarten with bells on! He was diagnosed with autism, but will be able to go onto regular kindergarten, with services. I will always credit these two ladies with helping him to thrive. Our other son was in Ms. Hubbs' fourth grade. What a creative and fun teacher! She is top notch! One of the best. A very open and friendly school with awesome teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

I have found that South Macon is the up most best school that my child has attended. The teachers are wonderful with our children and they take time with each one. Mr. Bowles and Mr. Shepard are the best and I'm glad that my son has them in his 1st best years of his schooling. I am proud to be apart of the Wildcats team!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

We have the most wonderful principal. He is very realistic about children and families. He works hard to make sure the teachers have everything they need. My only problem is the over crowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

South Macon is a wonderful school! Everyone is dedicated and caring. My youngest is in Kindergarten and we could not have a better teacher. Mr. Bowles and Mr. Shepherd always take time to speak. How thankful to enter such a nice place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

South Macon was wonderful. My son had a wonderful kindergarten experience and I hope that his first grade experience is just as fantastic. I loved Mrs. Tippett and Mr. Bowles they made his first year of school memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

South Macon is a great school and they really care about the children's well being. I have 2 children enrolled here and they have trully enjoyed going to school. Mr. Bowles is a very caring man, for example, my daughter fell on the playground and broke her arm and that evening after school he called to check on her. Her teacher even sent her flowers and balloons to the hospital. The staff here really care about there students. This is a #1 school in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female42%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female55%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female63%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities39%
Non-disabled students69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 52%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Black 0% 26%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Tolly Bowles
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 369-0947

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

855 Addington Bridge Road
Franklin, NC 28734
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 369-0796

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT