Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fuquay-Varina Elementary

Public | K-5 | 692 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2013

Fuquay Varina elementary was my daughters first school and she attended kindergarten there for two weeks. We were very disappointed in this school. I was informed, after the first week of school, that my child would have to walk by herself from drop off to her kindergarten classroom which just happened to be far past the upper elementary classrooms. We found the atmosphere to be unfriendly and unwelcoming. We didn't like her teacher at all and when we voiced our concerns (in a kind and diplomatic manner) to Dr so and so we were ignored. We visited another elementary school nearby and wound up buying a much more expensive home just so we would be in Willow Springs school district. We were VERY glad we did. Not only was WS friendlier and more welcoming but their academic scores were also higher than FV elementary. In all my time in North Carolina I never heard a negative comment regarding Willow Springs but heard many negative comments from parents whose children were attending Fuquay Varina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

What a complete disappointment! Unless you have a perfect A student without learning disabilities don't bother sending your children to this school! The principal cares about nothing other then winning the distinctive school award. They have no time for a child with ADD or ADHD. I discovered only after I pulled my child from this school that my child has ADHD. My child attended kindergarten through half of the first then I pulled my child as they did nothing but bully and use my child as a tool to keep the rest of the class in line often separating off alone in a corner, instead of actually trying to figure out what was going on and try to teach! Shame on them!! Good riddance to bad rubbish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Our school system relocated us to a new school in our area which we LOVE. However, FVES was a great place to learn and grow for my daughter. All of the teachers and staff were outstanding! We go back to visit all the time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Fuquay Elementry has a wonderful team of teachers and staff. They are there fully to meet out expectations and needs of all parents and children in and out of the school. Teachers are very concerned about every childs learning ability, and work extra hard for everyone in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

FVES is full of dedicated teachers who's only goal is to provide an excellent education in a safe, warm environment. This is our first year with the school, and in just a few weeks, our teachers have already shown our children that learning can be fun. Each person, from children, to parents, to teachers and administration is involved in creating an education experience here like no other!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I am very happy with my child's experience at FVES. She is a first grader and loves her teacher. Ms. Kilbourn is very caring and patient. I wish the school was smaller, but with Wake County's growth, I think that smaller schools are a thing of the past. I also wish that students had music, art and foreign language classes more frequently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My son just started Kindergarten this year with Mrs. Brown and Mrs. Martin and is doing wonderfully! I, as most parents, was worried about sending him off to school, but Fuquay Elementary has helped make this a whole lot easier! He is learning a bunch and all of the faculty and staff are very friendly. Mrs. Brown is a wonderful Kindergarten teacher who is calm and patient with the kids, which makes all the difference. I am just thrilled with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

FVES is an outstanding school! The principal, teachers, and staff really care about their students. We would like to go year round but we don't want to leave this school. The teachers and staff feel like family. The principal doesn't hide in his office. He's readily available when you have concerns and is always seen visiting the classes during the school day. We are very proud of our school and grateful for all they've done to help our children have a successful, memorable school year with each new year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Wow! Well organized, clean, safe, & welcoming environment for students & parents. Amazing for such a quickly growing area! Excellent communication, great activities, dynamic PTA, compassionate teachers, and responsive staff. Wonderful well rounded education with additional focus on technology & character development. We are glad to make FVES home for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

We have 2 children at FVES and would like to let everyone know how Wake County School System has let us down with our daughter and her special needs. She needed to be tested at the beginning of school, but it was February before they begin working with her. There is a 90 day waiting period for some stupid ridiculous reason that the wonderful adminstation has setup.Our child is very bright,high IQ, hard working and kind to everyone. All she needed was a smaller class w/ early intervention. If you do not push the system Very Hard your child would not get any help until the last month of a school year when it is too late. I hope if anyone else of you all are having similiar problems that you 'Take The Time' and address Dr. Creech, he has helped us a great deal. Raleigh seems to know it all. ows
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I have two children in Kindergarten and both of them have outstanding teachers! I had written to the principal to request that my children not be placed in the same classroom and I requested that they be placed with teachers who had prior experience with my children's special needs, i.e., developmental delays, etc. Their placement could not have been better. They have both excelled this year and have already met their end of year goals. We love FVES and would like to convey that this first year in the public school system has been a wonderful experience for our family. The entire staff has been exceptional in every regard. I hope that next year goes just as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I love this school. My daughter attended the Title1 program and reads anythign in her view. This is a great school with caring teachers and staff. Do let the outside discourage you from what's inside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My child had Mrs. Chapman last year and she is wonderful! This year is not so great, so far. I am learning very quickly how much having a great teacher means. It doesn't matter how great the school is if the teacher is not so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

My son is in Mrs. Chapman's class and he has improved dramatically with his learning. I truly recommand this school as being top notch in the district. The teachers that teach there really have their heart into the children and teaching them what they need to learn. What a wonderful classroom. Mrs. Chapman is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

My daughter is in Miss Vanderbur's kindergarten class and is doing great! Miss V is a great teacher. My daughter has learned more in kindergarten then I thought possible. She absolutely loves school and her teachers. We think FVES is a wonderful school. I do agree with the other mom who wrote a review. I also wish a co-op could be formed so that more parents (who have small children at home) could volunteer their time and help out where needed. I want to play a very active role in my childs education and would like to take part in class activities on occasion. I think being a parent, that is one of many important things you can do for your school age child. It is hard when you don't have someone available to watch your younger child so that you can volunteer your time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2004

This is our childs 1st year at FVES. It has been a rude awaking of what public school is all about. There are to many children in one class to get the structure and attention each child needs. There needs to be a special class for the children who continuously act up and take time away from the children who want to learn and obey the rules. I have more to say, but I am only allowed 150 words. Hopefully next year will be better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2004

My son is in Mrs. Chapman's Kindergarten class at this school. What a wonderful class and school. I am in and out of school frequently and it has always been so peaceful and organized. All the children seem to be really great and the staff is awesome. And parent participation is very evident. The PTA is great also. I have been very pleased and impressed with the curriculum and highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My daughter has just entered the first grade with Ms. Clarke as her teacher this year and she is very excited about what she will do this year. I just hope the enthusiasm will continue the whole year through. I know it helps a lot when the teachers are excited just like the students are. I look forward to being involved more this year too. I do wish we could form a childcare co-op at the school, so that mothers with other children could come help out more. I think it would be neat if we all could help each other out and keep each others children while we each had our turn at helping out our children's achievements in school. I have a friend whose children are over at Davis Drive Elementary and they have been doing this for a little while now and it is working out great. Parent participation is at a great level. If anyone has any input towards this, please let me know. We all want the best for our children's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities36%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female43%
Male58%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female62%
Male46%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students45%
Female38%
Male51%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female66%
Male59%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities35%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students49%
Female46%
Male53%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted90%

Science

All Students70%
Female69%
Male72%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities35%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Black 18% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Steven Moore
Fax number
  • (919) 557-2548

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 Johnson Pond Road
Fuquay Varina, NC 27526
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 557-2566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ballentine Elementary
Fuquay Varina, NC


Willow Springs Elementary
Willow Spring, NC


Hilltop Christian School
Fuquay Varina, NC


Hilltop Christian School
Fuquay-Varina, NC


Herbert Akins Rd Elementary
Fuquay Varina, NC


Lincoln Heights Elementary
Fuquay Varina, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT