Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Garner, NC
Students enrolled: 1,073
 

3 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Garner Middle 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a community member
Creech Road was one of the best schools i have ever been to. They had a step team,chorus,and play works. they got a new Principal last year. He came to every school after event. And he was fun to be around.He would come to the kids class rooms every day. We had the best times with the talent shows , pep rally's , and school dances. The teachers were loving to each student. They would tell us what it was like going to middle school. My fifth grade teacher gave us home work and she would treat it like a sixth grade teacher would she toke off points for every day it was late but she would try her best to make u turn it in. This is the best school ever!!!!!!!!!!!

North Garner Middle 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a community member
I don't understand why there are bad reviews! I went to NGMS for the 2011-2012 in sixth grade, and I loved it! Yes, I can agree with the other student about the sagging issue. I don't know about the "broken chin" or "glass breaking" because sixth grade was one of the best school years of my life! I met awesome people that I'm still in contact with today at NGMS. From what I remember, it wasn't the cleanest of schools, but it was great and I loved it. Highly recommend.


North Garner Middle 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
Teachers and staff do nothing when a student is physically or verbally harassed by other students, in plain sight. Glasses broken, punched in the chin, lunches flipped over, books thrown to the ground. Can't abide by this anymore.

North Garner Middle 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
This school is not the best for its academics. I am a current 7th grader there and I am not happy with most of my teachers. I have had so many problems that the school puts aside. I do not suggest going to this school if you want the best for your child. I can not wait to leave for there is so much bulling going on, and fights every day in the halls, that teachers and staff do not take care of. It is as if the students run the school and push the teachers around. The dress code states that sagging is not allowed yet everywhere you go in the halls people are sagging and the staff does not do any thing about it. Some of the staff is extremely rude or the teacher is too nice to his/her students and let them get away with too much. One of my teachers (who is actually considered to be one of the better ones in the school) tells us on a regular basis how much she dislikes teaching and that she should have kept her old job.

North Garner Middle 3

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
this school is really not the best enviroment for learning because they have so many bullis and the school teachers only call you for information about sports.


North Garner Middle 1

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
Though some of the teachers are communicative and responsive to parents, not all of them are. I regularly communicate with one out of three of my child's core teachers. Another teacher and I communicate sporadically and the third refuses to communicate. I am not impressed with the staff response to reports of bullying. My child is bullied, has been hit, has had possessions taken away, and is constantly subject to offensive and foul language. The administration's response to reports of bullying is that they talk to the offender and everything is handled. That offers no comfort to a parent of a child who is being harassed, intimidated, and threatened while at school or on the school bus. If you have a choice, do not send your child here if you want your child to receive an education. Kids here are more concerned with acting and looking like a hoodlum thug than learning. I am looking into other options for my child.
2 people found this helpful

North Garner Middle 1

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
Terrible school. Son has been bullied from day one. Kids wear pants that sag even though school policy says they shouldn't but no one re-inforces it. Teachers are nice but students are the worse I've ever seen in any public school probably due to lack of parental control and maybe they come from single parent home where no discipline is established.
1 person found this helpful

North Garner Middle 5

Posted March 23, 2011
- a community member
The teachers here are nice but strict. They really care about the students. Especially Ms. Yarn and Ms. Gore. They are excellent. I am a straight A student and this school is great.


North Garner Middle 1

Posted December 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

North Garner Middle 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
I agree. I am very involved in the school and also feel that the teachers and staff go above and beyond their call of service. Our kids are in a very safe environment and being taught not only core classes but respect as well. I give an A+ to this school!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Garner Middle
720 Powell Drive, Garner, NC  27529
(919) 662-2434
Last modified North Garner Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Garner Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top