Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
187 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Michael's Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
I have been impressed with the teachers and happy with the progress my children have made this year. Teachers have commented that they are happy and feel supported by the administration. They have been made part of the decision making process for new books and different ideas for the next school year. They feel valued and appreciated, which increases their ability to be effective in the classroom. Outside of the classroom, teachers coach sports and host clubs that give them the ability to connect with students on a different level.

St. Michael's Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
Students are kind and caring of one another. If you have chaperoned on a field trip, you witness first hand the friendships and family atmosphere the children have for one another.


St. Michael's Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank all the teachers, the principal, the office and anyone else that had made this year a success for my children. I feel lucky to be able to give this opportunity to them and I look forward to next year. Happy summer!

St. Michael's Catholic School 3

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Looks as though this has become a place to argue back and forth. If a school has this much drama on a website, we can only imagine what's going on inside the building. We received word that at least 6 faculty members are leaving. That's huge for a small school. Four of them were longtime employees. Three are retiring, and yet the new principal only made an effort to recognize one - not only did she announce it with a "mention", but with a separate letter and a celebration. Why did the other 2 not earn that same respect? If you will notice, all of the last 8 or 10 posts here are back and forth, either saying how bad this principal is for our school, or a defense for her. Something has gone awry. The enrollment is the LOWEST it's been in the history of the school! I hope our diocese replaces this principal before it's too late. To Mrs. Elmore and Mrs. Kiser...God bless you both. Thank you for all of YOUR years of service too, and your love and devotion to our children. You were the ones with true hands on with the love for our little ones. Your retirement is acknowledged too; if not by the school then by the parents of the children you've loved! If parents can't see what this principal is doing to St. Michaels, then your in denial. You are going to be devastated when the school closes its doors.

St. Michael's Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
To Mrs. Elmore, Mrs. Kiser and Mrs. Jones. Your years of service matter too! We wish each of you the very best!


St. Michael's Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Students help one another. I enjoy attending the school mass and seeing older students with younger ones. The school is built on faith and you feel that when you walk into the school.

St. Michael's Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Our students are very respectful and kind. We receive compliments on how the students act on field trips, at church and when volunteering.

St. Michael's Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Bookout has been our school secretary for over 25 years. She is kind, caring and the first person you see when you walk in the office. The students love her!


St. Michael's Catholic School 5

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
I remain a committed parent at this school. We have gone through some trying transitions. Four principals in four years with different personalities and goals have not been easy. This affected our enrollment but we are bouncing back! This year, our principal Mrs. LeVesque invited feedback from parents about what we wanted to see for our children. She also met with teachers over the summer to get their feedback on what they needed in the classroom. Knowing the changes in leadership we went through, she was very thoughtful in what changes were made this year. I have been very happy with the changes (morning dismissal procedure is an example) that she implemented. She is solid in her education background and the teachers love her. She supports them, mentors them and her door is always open. She is doing a great job and has provided the stability that this school desperately needed. She works tirelessly to market the school, give tours, hold meetings and communicate in a timely manner. She addresses any concerns that she becomes aware of. She supports parents, PTO and attends events such as the fall festival, father/daughter dance and winter concert. With the absence of leadership these past years, there are some parents that need to take a step back and stop thinking that they run the school. Mrs. LeVesque is very professional with demanding parents. She is fair and treats us all equal, whether the parent is a doctor or a housewife. My children love school and they love their teachers. There are many activities at the school for all types of interests and our PTO hosts fundraisers that support the entire school. After school clubs are very popular and include Lego, Chess and Robotics. This school has something for everyone.

St. Michael's Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are very effective. Some teachers tutor before or after school and they are receptive to any concerns a parent may have. Teachers are happy and getting support from the administration to increase their knowledge base, especially in the area of technology.

Nearby schools

St. Michael's Catholic School
704 Saint Michaels Lane, Gastonia, NC  28052
(704) 865-4382
Last modified St. Michael's Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top