Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
385 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wayne Country Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
It is model from the top down. Our school is very diverse and everyone is respected and valued as a member of the school community.

Wayne Country Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
It is part of the curriculum and the teachers include these tenets in their daily teaching. They also model the behaviors. These are all part of the school's culture.


Wayne Country Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
The school has an Honor Code. Values education is part of the curriculum and in weekly folders home, parents can see the weekly value that is being stressed.

Wayne Country Day School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
We started at WCDS when our two children were in 3K. Our older child in now in fifth grade and the school has wonderful. The headmaster is engaged in all levels of the school, not just the high school, and the my children's teachers have been beyond our expectations. The facilities have been upgraded and we have Promethean boards and iPad carts throughout the Lower School. Our new playground opened last year and it is great! Everyone cares about everyone and we could not be happier. The IOWA tests have come back year after year demonstrating that our Lower School is outstanding and we are so glad that we chose this school for our children. Please investigate all options in the area!. You will find no better school anywhere!

Wayne Country Day School 1

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
After having our oldest son at WCDS for 7 years (since 3K), we decided after a very discouraging year last year, it was time to make a change. Do not get me wrong, we adored the Early Years program here and one absolutely amazing 3rd grade teacher! The main issue with this school is the leader. While having completed many accomplishments in his years,he has absolutely no care, concern, or compassion for his Lower School program or it's parents. The academics are very subpar compared to other area private schools and some area public schools for that matter. His dedication is devoted to his Upper School program. It obviously needs to be brought to his attention that his "lower school" will eventually be his "upper school" and they will not be prepared if things do not change. I encourage everyone interested in WCDS to please explore your options, there are plenty of them. I wish I would have made this change several years ago. When you lose faith in the person who supposedly has your child's best academic interest at heart, you have nothing!


Wayne Country Day School 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
This school is amazing. I could not ask for a better learning environment for my three children. One of mine is graduating this year and was accepted into 5 outstanding, very competitive colleges. The teachers and faculty take such interest in the individual needs of each of my children. Parents are involved and there is tremendous team spirit for the athletic program. A++++!

Wayne Country Day School 5

Posted January 19, 2009
- a parent
GREAT school. Our son is in the 4k and LOVES everything about Wayne Country Day!

Wayne Country Day School
no rating

Posted November 23, 2007
- a parent
I have three children at WCDS, two in high school. WCDS is every bit as good as any educational option that we had in New York, except here in Goldsboro we pay a fraction of the tuition we would have paid. The administration of the school is reponsive and current in best practices, the teachers are caring and qualified, and the students are wholesome and welcoming. With a dozen AP classes and an impressive college placement record, get your children in to this school if you can. It is superb!


Wayne Country Day School 5

Posted March 03, 2004
- a teacher
I teach at this school and have a child enrolled. It is truly a gem of a school! People cannot possibly understand the close family feeling and sense of security w/o being there to witness it. Academic growth and opportunities abound...this is the place for your child to learn to think and be involved in the real world!

Wayne Country Day School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a student
Excellent school. I am an graduate of this school, and now my daughter attends as well. WCDS is very much a part of our lives. The educational standards are superb, and the faculty treat the students fairly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayne Country Day School
480 Country Day Road, Goldsboro, NC  27530
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (919) 736-1045
Last modified Wayne Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top