Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
379 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wayne Christian School 2

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
This is public school with Bible class. I was mostly satisfied with the academics at this school, but I did not feel that there was a real emphasis on Christ at this school. I was highly disappointed that the dress code is non-existent, and often there are short skirts, tight pants, or other outfits that wouldn't even be allowed at public schools. We did have amazing teachers, and my children learned a lot at WCS, but I am really looking for a school with more conservative values.

Wayne Christian School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
I am on this site because we are moving and I'm looking for a school that can be as close to what Wayne Christian has been for our family for the past 5 years. In my experience, the teachers work hard and they are gentle but firm. I attribute my child's love for reading to his first grade teacher. There was 100% parental attendance on my son's 4th grade field trip! The principal has a love for children and handles problems in a manner that, I believe, would be pleasing to God. A child and his parents' in my son's class commute an hour, from Raleigh, to come to Wayne Christian. The music teacher is amazing and runs a strong program. There are many sports offered and they really focus on Christ-like character. Fall Festival, Math Olympics, Field Day, Bake Sales, Art Show, Reading Competitions, Science Fair, it's very active!


Wayne Christian School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children have attended school at Wayne Christian. The school is beyond excellent. My daughter entered college and found that she was so very far ahead of her peers. She was a straight A student in high school and continues so in college. Her professors continue to utlize her as an example of good work with other students. My son is on the same track. It is hard work at WCS but you get out of it what you put in. WCS has consistently the highest overall SAT scores in Wayne County. One recent graduate just graduated from NC State as their valivictorian. Best of all the students get a great Christian education. They are challenged to pursue Christ and gain a deep knowledge of the Bible. I am very pleased with my children's spiritual growth. Like all Christian schools you have a mixed bag of students. Many are there because of the Christian education, others are there because they feel that the school can help with their troubled children. I would not trade our experience at WCS for anything. Superb academics coupled with Christian reinforcement makes the school the best Wayne County has to offer.

Wayne Christian School 5

Posted September 24, 2012
- a parent
While I don't agree that this school is 'more challenging than public school' I do feel that the school fosters a learning environment that you cannot get in a public school setting. I work in the public schools, but sent my children to WCS and must say, it's a fantastic place...I don't worry about them when they are there...and feel they are exposed to the gospel and are genuinely cared for and loved. It's a wonderfully nurturing place and the educational standards are in line with what the state requires for the public schools, but thankfully, they can bring God into the everyday activities of the school.

Wayne Christian School 5

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
My three children graduated from WCS and now my grandchildren attend. WCS is a very nuturing environment. This school and staff maintain a very high scholastic standard. My children had no problems at all in getting into college and were well prepared. I realize that while Christian education is not for everyone, my children thrived there while WCS supported our values and what they were taught in our home. You will never find a school that is perfect and Wayne Christian does not pretend to be so. We are very satisfied with WCS.


Wayne Christian School 3

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Wayne Christian has been a mixed bag for our kids. They have attended 5-7 grades for our youngest and 8-10 grade for our oldest. The biggest issue we have had is what can best be described as "bullying" by other students to those new/not from the area. I had hoped that a Christian school may be be a little different than a public school in this regard but we've been disappointed. In fact, I think that public schools have a leg up on WCS with their anti-bullying programs. It seems that the school doesn't even want to acknowledge that bullying is an issue. I know that adolescent and teen students are at a difficult age, but would like to have a little more support from the teachers/staff. The other issue I've had is that they school doesn't send graded tests/quizzes home b/c they use the same curriculum year after year and they are concerned with students cheating. It is absurd to me that the staff is more concerned with students using graded material to help younger students cheat, than with the parents being able to look over the material and know what areas their kids are struggling in. I have never had to ask for graded tests to come home for our review.

Wayne Christian School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
Wayne Christian School (and the principal, Kathy Sanders) was a godsend for our family. This is my daughter's second year attending this school and she is excelling. We are a military family so she is always the "new kid." She adjusted extremely well at this school. Additionally, the teacher's worked with us to finally determine the cause of her inattentiveness (and it wasn't ADHD)! We were able to get the proper medical treatment and now she is just thriving. My only regret is that we can't stay in Goldsboro so she can complete her education at this wonderful school!

Wayne Christian School 4

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
I am a graduate of Wayne Christian school and will be graduating from college in May. Wayne Christian School has a vrey challenging curriculum that prepared me for my journey through college. It wasn't hard for me to transition into college work during my freshman year because the work seemed to be on the same level as my work at Wayne Christian.


Wayne Christian School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
I have two children in this school and this is their 3rd year. The atmosphere is wonderful. I feel that my children are truly cared for. Academically the school is much more chanllenging than the public school here. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is interested in a high quality education in a loving, christian atmosphere.

Wayne Christian School 5

Posted December 06, 2007
- a parent
Excellent learining environment and the teachers and faculty are wonderful to facilitate needs of the family and the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wayne Christian School
1201 Patetown Road, Goldsboro, NC  27530
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.
Last modified Wayne Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top