Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 963 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2011

My son has been at this school for 3 yrs, he has had his normal issues as any child does going to school but this year it has been excessive & the new vice principal is in my opinion in the wrong profession. This adult has began to pick on my child, he was challenged to a fight on the school bus by a substitute bus driver & the vice principal chose to let him continue driving children, just on a different bus. I will be transfering my son to a new school next year for the specific reason of THE ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

My daughter spent most of her kindergarden year at this school, up to spring break, then we moved to Florida. The skills from the kindergarden at Spring Creek are equivalent to the pre-K in Florida. My daughter was a top student in Spring Creek and now will be more than likely repeating kindergarden in Florida. Pay for private school if your child may have to enter another school system. I loved her teachers and the principal, so it is a rude awakening to see my daughter struggle so much at her new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My daughter has been going to this school since kindergarten. She is now going to fifth grade. Her teacher in forth grade was Mrs. Drew she is the best and she really cares about her class and their success. I couldn't imagine my daughter going to another school. SCE is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I have 3 children at Spring Creek and am doing what ever I can to get them out before next year. we moved here from out of state and I expected so much more. My eldest child was in AIG (gifted program) and it is pathetic. My primary grade children were bored and unchallenged at school. The reviewer who raved about the office staff obviously did not notice the sub-par communication coming from the school. If you strive for a mediocre education then this is the school for your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

This is an excellent school... why pay for private.. when this is SO much better! CLEAN, UPDATED facility. They are growing and need more classrooms and it will happen soon. The Principal is THE BEST Mr. Ivey is the glue that keeps it all together. Mrs. Fason is right behind him +++ The teachers all get along.. really..and the front office is truely gifted. No complaints at ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

I really like the school. It is nearby and a lot of people in Walnut Creek send their kids there. The principal is GREAT. He is the driving force for all to excell. No complains about teachers. The facilty is too small. Needs seperate lunch room and gym. The trailors in back need to be moved to the front to show taxpayers the school needs more money. Art and music teachers need their own rooms. Parental involvement is pretty good overall. The front office is GREAT! They make you feel welcome when you enter... which a lot of schools overlook. Mr. Ivey and Mrs. Maranda/Mrs. Cherry are all friendly and helpful. Successful PTA and community involvment keep this school going!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

We switched our two boys to this school from another Wayne County School this year and it has been the best thing we could have done. I just wish we had done it alot sooner. We are all so pleased with the cleanliness, atmospere, and professional way that things are done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

we as parents love this school our daughter wants to be no where else.The school is more of a family enviroment than just a place you send your child to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female29%
Male44%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students35%
Female35%
Male36%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students38%
Limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students28%
Female26%
Male29%
Black5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Academically gifted88%

Reading

All Students27%
Female32%
Male23%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically gifted75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students36%
Female36%
Male36%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically gifted91%

Reading

All Students30%
Female36%
Male25%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically gifted83%

Science

All Students30%
Female24%
Male36%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically gifted87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 14%
White 35% 52%
Black 10% 26%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Gail Richards
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 751-7165

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Saint Johns Church Road
Goldsboro, NC 27534
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 751-7155

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lagrange Elementary
La Grange, NC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT