Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-8
Private
Greensboro, NC
Students enrolled: 456
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of three children that have attended St. Pius X for the past several years. We left the public school system because our children were not being helped or valued, and they were lost in a system that only values rigorous testing and standards. The curriculum at SPX is current and diverse, and there are plenty of opportunities for extra-curriculars, clubs, sports, and the arts. Their music and dramatic arts are some of the best in town for a lower-grades school. Their math and science teachers have fostered growth and interest in my children. Math is challenging and has opportunities for advanced classes, and recent fundraisers have provided for a new science lab. They do follow common standards for education and curriculum, but my guess is that it's not "rigorously" monitored because the students there have no problem meeting the standards that the school itself has set. There are benchmark tests in place to assess these things (Stanford, OLSAT), but the emphasis on the testing is extremely low-key and my children have never (never-ever) come home stressed out or upset over the content or duration of these tests, though they have always done just fine. There are enough kids there that my children have found friends with genuine common interests - whether it be sports, legos, or outside-of-school activities. Yet the environment is small enough that we feel like we know everyone in their class and it is more like a big family than a sea of unfamiliar faces. The administration changed several years ago, and the Principal and VP are extremely caring and considerate. They listen to parents and from a personal standpoint they have worked with us on many occasions to ensure that our children are receiving the best education and environment possible. And we are far from being large donors in any form or fashion the church or school, which says to me that they care about all of their students and families - not just a select bunch. The teaching staff is a great mix of experience and youth and comprised of a good balance of male/female teachers. The students are given a ton of leadership opportunities in and out of the classroom, and character education is stressed every single day. The quality of education we have received at St. Pius goes far beyond the monetary value, which is also more than fairly priced for all that they offer their families.

St. Pius X Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
My children had approx. 20-30 minutes (maximum) per night through 4th/5th grade, and then once they got into middle school it's averaged around an hour per night. Often times they are able to complete their homework during after school care with the help of teachers there. However they are expected to "study" for their subjects as well, which is outside the realm of "work" that they have to complete.


St. Pius X Catholic School 4

Posted August 02, 2012
- a community member
Went here for 9 years and this school is ok. A lot has changed over the years.The field trips are fun and sometimes there are fun games in class. Really crowded in hallways and on activety bus for field trips though. Uniforms werent fun but there were some no uniform days.

St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a community member
I went her for school and it helped me in high school. They challenge you so that you will be ready.

St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
St. Pius X Catholic School is an excellent Catholic school that fosters excellence in academics as well as stewardship and faith. The teachers truly care about each and every student and they go the extra mile. I would highly recommend this school to anyone who wants a quality education for their child and they live in the Greensboro area!


St. Pius X Catholic School 1

Posted January 02, 2012
- a community member
This school is not one i would recomend to anybody who wants the best for their children. St. Pius is mainly 'below average' and, being a science teacher at another school, st pius science is just a joke. Their lovely Christian enviroment is one of hate and prejuidice. They focus more on the strict uniform dress code than they do on academics. Stay far away from St. Pius!!!!

St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a parent
St. Pius is a faith filled learning environment that caters to all children. The teachers are caring people who work hard to make sure each child learns at their own pace. Parent involvement is key at this school. communication between school and parents is strongly encouraged. I have had my children at St. Pius for the past 14 years and have had very few complaints.

St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted January 02, 2007
- a parent
St. Pius X is a fantastic learning environment for children. The quality of the teachers, the emphasis on values and the challenging academic environment make the school a superior value. Our daughter is appreciated for being the person she is and is encouraged to develop both spiritually and academically each day.


St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
St. Pius X Catholic School is an excellent school that has positively fostered my daughter's academic, social, physical, and spiritual development. The teachers are extremely caring and make every effort to ensure that my child's individual needs are met. I would recommend St. Pius X to any family seeking an academically challenging Catholic school.

St. Pius X Catholic School 5

Posted September 07, 2006
- a parent
St. Pius is a great school! My three children love going to school, and are all learning on an accelerated level. The opportunities available and Chirstian environment seals the deal!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Pius X Catholic School
2200 North Elm Street, Greensboro, NC  27408
Last modified St. Pius X Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Pius X Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top