Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
263 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Garden Friends School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
I am so grateful that I found NGFS! I truly love how this school focuses on the whole child rather than just test results. They have a social curriculum unlike any other. They recognize and celebrate each child's unique gifts. The teachers regularly communicate to me and are always available if I have any questions or concerns. My children love going to school. They think learning is fun!

New Garden Friends School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
the community service time and community involvement has taught my children so much about how to be emphatic and helpful.


New Garden Friends School 5

Posted September 04, 2015
- a parent
this school has shaped my children into smart, creative, conscientious citizens of the world. the academics are stellar, but the social curriculum is what make ngfs stand out. ngfs is experiential learning at its best!

New Garden Friends School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Leadership issue .Leadership need changing at the school. School needs to live up to vision statement. There's are so many parents that agree with me.

New Garden Friends School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
My child experienced bullying. Enough said!Leadership need changing at the school. School needs to live up to vision statement. There's are so many parents that agree with me.


New Garden Friends School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Leadership need changing at the school. School needs to live up to vision statement. There's are so many parents that agree with me.

New Garden Friends School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a rising 10th grader and she has been a part of the ngfs community since kindergarten. The education and whole child development that my child has received is priceless! She has grown into a remarkable young lady, this in large part is due to the nurturing environment that ngfs provides .

New Garden Friends School 5

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's first year at NGFS Upper division and he has felt at home from day one! He is challenged and respected by all of his teachers. He also values the diversity and inclusiveness of the school. My son has a health related learning disability and the staff were all very interested in understanding and accommodating his potential issues if necessary. Our family would highly recommend NGFS!


New Garden Friends School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
New Garden Friends School does care about all families regardless of wealth. They offer a substantial amount of help to various families but there is alway family sacrifice, I know we have to figure it out every year. Attending an independent school is a huge commitment and it can be very hard, and very painful when we realize it is time to move along. If I have to make that choice one year I hope I do not try to share sour grapes as I leave. The teachers are committed, caring and the reason we stay. We love NGFS.

New Garden Friends School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately this school care much more about their perception than the actual children that attend. The lack of leadership at this school is abundant and clear. While the concept is great in theory, it lacks the basic progression for the average student and focuses more importance on the children of the very wealthy (donors). Theories don't teach children, teachers due and unfortunately the weakness at NGFS is in the teaching and staff member involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Garden Friends School
1128 New Garden Road, Greensboro, NC  27410
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (336) 299-0964
Last modified New Garden Friends School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top