Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
800 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Caldwell Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
It is hard to assign a single "effectiveness" value to such a broad pool of teachers across these varied subjects and grades. We do observe that teachers love what they teach and genuinely care about their students.

Caldwell Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
As parents, we continue to monitor the level of homework from grade to grade. There was a year where we felt there was "too much" homework. We expressed that to the teacher. To her credit, she did lighten the load (which was above average). In general, the level of homework reinforces the concepts taught in class. The homework is meaningful. The teachers are cooperative when it comes to making up work following illness or travel.


Caldwell Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Caldwell Academy is a rigorous academic environment where students seek to complete their studies, as well as engage in extracurricular activities in both athletic and artistic venues. These students are taught from a young age to organize so that they may multi-task well. They are taught to find the subjects and activities they love - not to be "busy" for busy's sake.

Caldwell Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
The adult staff/teachers/parents in the Caldwell community set the tone for compassion and caring at school. We are called to model and teach these traits to our children/students. It is lovely to watch the seeds of character take root and be nourished both at home and at Caldwell Academy.

Caldwell Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I believe that the school holds high expectations of its students in the areas of honesty, integrity and fairness. However, I believe that the school, at best, is a PARTNER with each family in the development of the students/children.


Caldwell Academy 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Our children have attended Caldwell Academy since Kindergarten. We now (in 2015) have one 7th grader and one 4th grader. As parents who attended public schools in North Carolina, this is our first exposure to the classical model of education. The layered approach makes sense at each stage, as children move from memorization (in Grammar School) to critical thinking (in Dialectic "middle" School) to expressing themselves articulately and persuasively (in Rhetoric "high" School). As Christians, we agree with the non-denominational Statement of Faith and appreciate that teaching is approached through the lens of a Christian worldview. We are grateful for the way the teachers pour themselves into these students, as well as for the overall community at Caldwell.

Caldwell Academy 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Caldwell Academy has exceeded any expectation we had when looking at the private school options in Greensboro. The Classical approach to education, is unique, challenging, and focuses on educating the WHOLE child. I do not believe there is another school that will better prepare my children spiritually and mentally for handling the demands of college and the ‘real world.’ As a mother, knowing the faculty and staff cherish, value and love my children is beyond monetary value. We are extremely thankful for Caldwell Academy.

Caldwell Academy 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff are wonderful, they make your child feel special while fully preparing your child for college.


Caldwell Academy 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a teacher
I have worked in private college-prep high schools for the past fourteen years. However, I've never worked in a school that prepares students for college as well as Caldwell Academy. The classical approach to education is outstanding! The school is headed by an outstanding administration team, involved school board, and dedicated teachers that willing spend time mentoring students. Truly an unbelievable school!!!

Caldwell Academy 5

Posted November 01, 2013
- a parent
We came from a public school background and had to work very hard to get up to speed of Caldwell. Our children were straight A students in public school and had to work HARD to make C's; however, upon graduation, I can honestly say that they were fully prepared for college. More importantly, however, they were prepared spiritually and were challenged to be great human beings. While no place is absolutely perfect, we have found this school to be full of grace, patience, and love. As with everything in life, you do get out of it what you put in. This is truly the best money we have ever spent and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Caldwell Academy
2900 Horse Pen Creek Rd, Greensboro, NC  27410
(336) 665-1161
Last modified Caldwell Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Caldwell Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top