Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Private
Greensboro, NC
Students enrolled: 152
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
Those people who wrote about this school as school only for rich are wrong. A lot of kids(including my kid) are getting financial assistance from school. They will work with you if you have trouble paying tuition, they will accept monthly payments, etc. This is a great school and I am glad my daughter got accepted. Yes, they don't accept everybody, but they never turn anybody away because of financial situation. They are looking at your kid's grades, community involvment, willing to folloow jewish traditions, etc. So, those accusing school only cater to rich families are wrong.

American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
The American Hebrew Academy is a Jewish Community nestled on a hundred acres of woods, complete with a lake, and state-of-the-art facilities from SmartBoards in every classroom and lab, to an athletic center including a waveless competition pool. A college-prep boarding school of the highest standards. Classes are SMALL; all the students & teacher sit together at one table to discuss each subject. No matter which grade you enter, students quickly get caught up in the excitement and momentum of learning. Students are nurtured to become life long learners. The Academy is a place where you can discover the power, individuality, and focus of your talents. Classes in English, mathematics, social science, science, and physical education encourage you to ask and answer big questions. Just as important, they explore Jewish history, culture, philosophy, Rabbinics, Hebrew and the Bible. Students from all branches of Judaism come to study and live together . . . they thrive within their own branch and gain an understanding of a variety of perspectives.


American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
I've got 2 kids in the school, one is a senior. To say it's transformational is an understatement. They have the best of everything, they're safe, they're challenged, they have a fantastic social life despite the size of the school, and it is extremely diverse economically. We are incredibly grateful for the assistance the school provides us. The fact that Judaism permeates every aspect of the school makes it incredibly comfortable. It's a small school that thinks it's much larger - they offer SO much!!! We feel very fortunate to have our kids there, and know that tthey are proud to have the opportunity to get such an incredible education, to be making lifelong friendships with Jewish kids from around the globe, and to have the opportunity to spend time getting to know Israel. They feel more prepared to go onto college campuses because of their experiences living away, being involved in a community, and managing their time and finances. We're not afraid that they'll blow their Freshman year in college because they're so motivated to fulfill their dreams - dreams that have been inspired by the incredible community that IS AHA.

American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted March 25, 2012
- a parent
I disagree with those who state "no need to apply unless you can pay the $12,000. . .we are parents of an incoming 9th grader for the 2012-2013 term. We found the school, administrators, teachers, etc. . to be very understanding of our current economic environment. They are acutely aware of the need to balance the needs of families who cannot afford the tuition/boarding rates and the families who do not need financial assistance. Look, nothing in life is free, except the love we give to our children. . .so yes, you are going to have to make some kind of financial commitment to the school, otherwise they would not be able to provide the exceptional education and experience you desire for your child. I know first hand, because I (we) are one of those who needed it and got it. . .

American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted December 22, 2011
- a community member
Accusations made about the cost of tuition at the Academy are unfounded. The Academy is not a school exclusively reserved for the wealthy, as 52% of current families receive financial assistance. For the 2011-2012 academic year, our board allocated $1,500,000 in financial assistance which makes up 12% of this year s operating budget. Every dollar of financial assistance budgeted was utilized. For the past three years demand for financial assistance has surpassed available funds. We advertise so that more children can attend. Attracting full paying families enables us to assist those with limited financial resources. Raising our institutional awareness among donors Jewish philanthropists will help us build needed scholarship funding. We are extremely sensitive to those with limited financial means. We are fully transparent about what we are able to provide and never seek to create false expectations about one s financial responsibilities. We are gratified that so many families seek the educational opportunities the Academy can provide. Unfortunately, demand by those seeking financial assistance presently exceeds those we can serve.


American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted December 22, 2011
- a community member
Accusations made about the cost of tuition at the Academy are unfounded. The Academy is not a school exclusively reserved for the wealthy, as 52% of current families receive financial assistance. For the 2011-2012 academic year, our board allocated $1,500,000 in financial assistance which makes up 12% of this year s operating budget. Every dollar of financial assistance budgeted was utilized. For the past three years demand for financial assistance has surpassed available funds. We advertise so that more children can attend. Attracting full paying families enables us to assist those with limited financial resources. Raising our institutional awareness among donors Jewish philanthropists will help us build needed scholarship funding. We are extremely sensitive to those with limited financial means. We are fully transparent about what we are able to provide and never seek to create false expectations about one s financial responsibilities. We are gratified that so many families seek the educational opportunities the Academy can provide. Unfortunately, demand by those seeking financial assistance presently exceeds those we can serve.

American Hebrew Academy 1

Posted November 12, 2011
- a parent
For the 1%. Don't even bother to apply if you can't pay at least $12,000. They won't even look at your application. If you are committed to Jewish values and education, have your child apply to a great New England prep school with need blind admission, qualify for financial aid, and continue to send your child to Jewish summer camp. I can't believe that the school's web site says it is an economically diverse school. NOT.

American Hebrew Academy 1

Posted November 09, 2011
- a community member
This is not like other religious schools, Jewish or any other religion.They care more about the content of your wallet than your soul.My niece really wanted to attend, her Mom, the only wage earner in the family, teaches school.AHA would not allow her to attend.Only the rich need apply.


American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a parent
I agree with all the comments below. My daughter is currently a sophomore, in her second year al the school. The reviews are all true and accurate (including how difficult it is as a parent to let your child go away to high school). But it is so worth it because the quality of the education, the caring of the staff, and the sense of connection and spirit are incredible.

American Hebrew Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2011
- a student
The combination of the best teachers, a great community and caring friends helps to create a sense of community everyone begins to miss after only boarding the plane to go home

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American Hebrew Academy
4334 Hobbs Road, Greensboro, NC  27410
Last modified American Hebrew Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
American Hebrew Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top