Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Triad Math And Science Academy 1

Posted December 13, 2015
- a community member
I left this school 3 years ago. I am seriously BEGGING that you do not send your child to this Unsafe, Undisciplined, Crazy, INCOMPETENT school! The principal bases many schoolwide rules on HIS religious beliefs. The teachers give the 6TH GRADERS an average of 3 hours of homework so they can slack during the day and just NOT TEACH. I am now in 9th Grade and much happier in my Public high school. The public middle school with over 1,000 kids was better than this charter school with half that amount. I get more help an undivided attention from my teachers in my classes of about 32 than these classes of about 20. All the "teaching" that these teachers do is just show powerpoints of Flat-Out notes and force you to write them down. No explaining what so ever! Just "you better be writing this down." while they sit at there desks and do whatever they feel like doing, which is everything BUT teaching. Another issue in this school is all of the ignored bullying. If you are bullied and you report it to the teachers, they do nothing. I was once shoved up against the lockers by 8th graders right in front of one of the teachers who saw the whole thing. They just turned and walked back into their classroom. One time I even got FOOD POISONING from their disgusting, UNDERCOOKED, cafeteria food. I missed a week of school and was up until midnight for 4 days because the teachers only cared about shoving all of the make up homework that I was not even taught or given the notes for down my throat. I don't even want to take the time to explain of the horrible things that go on in this torture chamber of a school. 0 stars if possible. Test scores are surprisingly not a 1 out of 10. This school deserves to be SHUT DOWN. NEVER and I seriously mean NEVER send your child to this horrible school. If you still decide to, you are in for one big nightmare of a year. Thank you for reading my review.

Triad Math And Science Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Great experience so far! My child loves it and is learning confidently so that's all that matters. They have excellent clubs/extra curricular activities and the teachers are really hands on with the students during class time. As a parent of a new student, I've gone in several times to monitor my child's class just to be sure and it all seems very professional and educational for the kids. My child has enough homework to keep her practicing at home especially in maths which I think is awesome. They do need to improve on the traffic conditions coz it can get extremely congested dropping and picking up kids from school. Overall grade is 5 stars from me :)


Triad Math And Science Academy 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
My child learns more here than she did in the public school system. She's happier here and enjoys her clubs and other school functions. The teachers are required to tutor in need students one day a week and that has been a major factor to her coming from being behind at the end of last year (in Guilford County public school) to being on grade level (at TMSA) I'm a little wary of the expansions they have in store for next year but our first year at TMSA was a success. We like the school.

Triad Math And Science Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
I visited the school to take a tour. I think they were to free with letting people in and around the kids with no ID. I don't feel like this school is safe.

Triad Math And Science Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
ls a great school for my kids. It's a great fit. We like the school's teachers and staff. They have excellent afterschool clubs and Saturday school. The school is like a second family to my kids.


Triad Math And Science Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have two children who attend TMSA (elementary) and we love it. The school is very diverse with students and teachers from different parts of the world. The staff demonstrate knowledge and care for every child's education by way of their programs offered after school and on Saturday's. Also, communication among teachers and parents is great! When it comes to "true" education, it should be one that provide children with a global mindset and TMSA is the place. Students, also, have the opportunity to travel abroad during the summer - how cool is that? Goooo Tigers!

Triad Math And Science Academy 1

Posted January 05, 2014
- a community member
This school is horrible I'm in 8th grade and they are pushing us too hard. We have a minimum of two hours each night of homework. They force us to take spanish or turkish ! In 8th grade we have only spanish or turkish and physical education. Many students can't do clubs after school because they have to do all their homework. I hate everything about this school. I can take the exact same classes and more at my old school. Please I'm begging you do not put your children through this stress. The only good thing about this school is it looks good on an application. But it doesn't look the best, if anything send your high school bounf kids to Page for the IB programme that's where I'm going. Or send high school students to Page until 10th grade then from 11-12th send them to Greensboro College Middle College. The uniforms are horrible and they are always changing rules. It's a horribly small school and it is so out of order. Send your kids here to be pressured and stressed out of their minds. This school is HORRIBLE. Coming from a current student, please. Don't come here.

Triad Math And Science Academy 1

Posted November 18, 2013
- a community member
they do not treat children right i know from experience (by former 10th grader) bully reports are ignored. also test scores should be a 2 for this school. they do not give good education they are teaching 10th graders 9th grade work .very awful school!


Triad Math And Science Academy 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
The dedication of the staff is wonderful. They seem to really care about the children and the education that they are receiving. The children come home happy after having a good day at school, and yet they are leaning at grade level or above.

Triad Math And Science Academy 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a TMSA student it has been great to see my child eager to participate, grow in knowledge, and confidence. The Teachers are the best in their field of studies and methodology. TMSA is a wonderful safe and futuristic learning environment!! School exceeds my expectations of a higher level academic achievement school. The Teachers' dedication at Triad Math and Science Academy is unmatched. The curriculum is challenging and the academic clubs offered expose the students to advanced science, robotics, foreign languages and many other subjects. The opportunities the students at TMSA have are unprecedented!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Triad Math And Science Academy
700 Creek Ridge Road, Greensboro, NC  27405
(336) 621-0061
Last modified Triad Math And Science Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Triad Math And Science Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top