Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy 5

Posted May 21, 2016
- a parent
Cornerstone had been a great choice for our family. We have loved our teachers. Love the feeling of community found here.

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The students look up to them and love them! They are very knowledgeable about the subjects they teach


Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
For the most part, it is fine. Sometimes there is way too much given in upper grades but it's done in preparation of high school.

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
They have to have persistence and determination to keep up with the rigor of the curriculum. Most students strive to do their best academically.

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
You develop respect by showing respect and there has only been one issue with that in our 3 years of being at CCA


Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Yes. They have a Cornerstone Cares program that they involve the students in each month to raise money for a local agency supporting that month's character trait.

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
They strive hard to teach character values and uphold the students and staff to those values.

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Cornerstone Charter Academy is a fabulous school. The teachers and staff conduct themselves professionally. There are less behavior problems than the elementary we were previously at. The curriculum is very good and of a high standard. Character values are taught and upheld. There are high expectations for the students to do their best and help is provided for those that need it. The sports programs have been great as well. We have been well pleased the past 3 years and are excited about starting the high school this year. There is a sense of community at Cornerstone and we all work together. Parents are welcome at anytime and encouraged to come in and volunteer! Hands down...best school we've attended!!


Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy 2

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
This is our 2nd year and we loved Cornerstone, ilast year…. This year? Well, not so much. They have some great teachers and we’ve been unfortunate in not getting those. Our teachers stuck to the curriculum that we understand as directed by the board. (More about those wonderful people later!) So, the word you will hear at this school is “Rigorous”. You’ll also hear that “Cornerstone has a Rigorous STEM program". Get the wrong teacher and "if your child can’t keep up, well, then, we’re sorry but you and your child suck” Really happened… There is no correlation between teachers, grades, and teaching styles. Next, these guys have yet to figure out that the Rigorous coursework they've chosen cannot be covered in the number of school days. Sign up for this school and plan on a package at Huntington! Ironically, it’s close to the school which may well have been an astute business move on their part. The 3 standardized tests they gave this year is 2 short for the 5 we can expect next year! Your kids will do well on those. The bad news is that those results have little correlation to their actual grades. There's also no correlation between the standardized test themselves. It's crazy. The great news is the art teacher, principle and several board members were absolutely awesome. “Were” because all mentioned had to leave at the request of a board with little to no experience in starting a school, much less running one! The good news is that they have a bunch of money in the bank after just 3 years! Hopefully this war chest will help them develop something innovative! At this rate though, and the dynamics of a less than professional board, it’s more likely AOL dial-up will overtake Apple's Iwatch as something really cutting edge… Doubtful with this leadership. I’m investing in Huntington before these guys start a High School!

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
We feel so blessed to have the opportunity to attend Cornerstone. We have been at Cornerstone since it's first year. We have three kids at the school. The school is amazingly organized for being less than 2 years old. The administration is willing to listen to ideas. For instance, there was a large group of 2nd graders in advanced math but did not pass a "Move up Math" test. Parents expressed their concern about the kids not being challenged enough by the 2nd grade math program. The administration decided to group the advanced learners during math time to challenge them more. They have since moved through the 2nd grade curriculum and are into 3rd grade lessons. The administration/office staff are helpful and truly care about the students. My kids love the morning assembly. It encourages the students to be involved in school activities, promotes character education values and teaches them about being part of something bigger than just their class. Our teachers have been a huge blessing to our family. Parents are encouraged to be very involved for classroom and lunchtime help. It is a great way to get to know the teachers and my kids friends better.

Nearby schools

Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy
2535 New Garden Road East, Greensboro, NC  27455
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (336) 482-3855
Last modified Cornerstone Charter Academy: A Challenge Foundation Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top