Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Aycock Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 620 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

I went to this school for all of whole middle school. It is not racially diverse to say the least and a large majority of the students are racist towards white people. The teachers are tired and put no effort into their job. Bullying was a small issue at points.Would not recommend.


Posted April 25, 2012

Im not impressed with this school. The teachers are wonderful but I think that they are not respected by the students. When I enrolled my students here, my husband and I clearly heard kids cursing as they roamed the halls, saying disrespectful things to adults and being rude. When my children started here it seemed like something goes on everyday. My kids were bullied for coming from an academy and it got to the point where I contacted the school board. I think this school needs to instill some moral values in its students because its apparent that majority of the students arent getting it at home. This will be the 1st and last year my children attend here. They are not use to hearing the things that a lot of these students say out of their mouths. Its pure choas and it makes it hard for the teachers to be effective. I have observed teachers frustration because there is only so much they can do or say. Girls pick fights with mydaughter constantly and to the point they send vulgar messages to her email and facebook account. My son was slammed to the floor just yesterday because he is "soft" to them and will not fight back. He is trying to get an education, not fight daily
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

I am impressed with this school. It is small and the teachers are very communicative with me. I regularly receive emails and calls about my son's work (both when he's doing great and when he needs extra support). They all seem to have an attitude of what can we do together to support his learning (except one teacher). The principal and vice principal for his grade are very helpful, realistic, understanding and great communicators. There's a great diversity of achievement levels but my son is not slipping through the cracks academically. He seems challenged even though he's gifted. The reason I've given it 4 stars and not 5: there are a lot of places on campus that allow the kids to be hidden from view/unmonitored. And, as I mentioned, there is one teacher (out of 7 that my son has had this year) I've encountered who should not be in the classroom. He is inconsistent, doesn't do what he says he will (frustrating my son to pieces), will not answer questions in class, makes negative comments about the kids behavior and knows less about his subject than my son does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

the only way to get rid of the trash is no tolerance one warning 2 time your out thats where my child is being educated and the school has class students that respect each other
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I believe that Aycock is a school in progress. Parents /Teacher/ and Students have a great deal of Lion's pride. My child is enjoying her education journey at Aycock Middle School. The PTA is doing a marvelous job.... their are various activites and clubs for the students to join... The DrumLine and Dance Team Rock!!! Go Lion's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

aycock is a great school but the fights kids get in are ridiculous. some kids cuss and threaten people but over all the school is great. from a loyal stundent
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

With all schools they have their challenges. It will take money dedication from teachers and staff forthis school to continueto grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

i think aycock is a wonderful school my child went there in her 6 th grade year. at first she didnt like it but now she wants to go back but I don't know the school she's at right now is very good and quiet but other then that aycock is wonderful and some parents might not think so but i do its not the school that's bad its the children there. the school is very good and good education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

Aycock is a good school over all but the teachers disrespect the student more than the studends and thats not fair! The activities are wonderful but the teacher need 2 chiil
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Aycock is absolutely the worst school I've ever been in. The discipline is awful. Fights happen regularly and no one can seem to do anything about it. I would not be surprised if there is a gang influence in this school. I will never allow my child to attend this school again - for fear of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I thought this school had a lot of caring administrators, but as the year continued, it appeared that it was all about them making a appearance of caring and it was definitely not about the kids, however, some really great and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

This school is horrid. The students are out of control and there is no administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

It is obvious that the adminstrative team wants to build a school of excellence. Each day they are actively invovled in working with students to help them succeed. I am glad my son has been given a chance at Aycock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

its the best school my child ever been to so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I really dont like the way the teachers at aycock treat their student. The teachers are vey disrespctful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

I am impressed w/Mrs Foley. I think she is trying to instill discipline and order in the school. My son is in 6th grade and has wonderful teachers on his team. The guidance counselor has been helpful and the new PTA newsletter has been informative. Communication could still be better, but it's my understanding that middle school is much different than elementary school in that regard. The school counts on the children too much to relay info home. My son's first semester report card was very good and he enjoys going to school there in the Science & Technology Magnet Program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students25%
Female26%
Male25%
Black15%
Asian6%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically gifted84%

Reading

All Students31%
Female34%
Male28%
Black23%
Asian6%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female30%
Male28%
Black23%
Asian6%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically gifted82%

Reading

All Students40%
Female42%
Male38%
Black36%
Asian6%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically gifted88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students24%
Female22%
Male27%
Black22%
Asian23%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically gifted72%

Reading

All Students28%
Female30%
Male25%
Black27%
Asian-5%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Academically gifted78%

Science

All Students41%
Female37%
Male45%
Black38%
Asian23%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students73%
Female69%
Male79%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted78%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 67% 26%
White 11% 52%
Asian 8% 3%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Keisha McMillan
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 370-8044

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

811 Cypress St
Greensboro, NC 27405
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 370-8110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Academy At Lincoln
Greensboro, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT