Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walter Hines Page High School

Public | 9-12 | 1872 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

The principal is deplorable. She doesn't communicate effectively or use proper English. When you try to discuss any issue you have, she just talks over you and never really addresses the issue. I think her leadership has disenfranchised and set a negative tone many good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

Page continues to get worse each year. The administration is a joke. They cannot even speak proper English. The lack of communication is unacceptable. The leadership team and administration continue to create rules that are not explained and they do not give reasons for many decisions made (dress code). It is a shame that they continue to harass good students about their wardrobe when they are making the school look better by our test scores. Some teachers are very passionate, but others take their job as a joke and prefer handing out packets rather than teaching the class. What happened to the need for education? Why pay teachers if the students are just expected to teach themselves. It is so surprising that Page has so many smart students. The parents and the students deserve most of the credit. The teachers are too opinionated about sensitive subjects and do not seem to truly care about the feelings of the students. The administration is the worst. They take weeks to reply to emails and phone calls. When they finally get back to you, expect to wait 30 minutes to meet with them. The parent's and student's time is not valued. The office staff is unprofessional.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2010

We have two children at Page. For those serious about getting a quality education, Page is there to make it happen. Most of the teachers care about the quality of the educational experience. The sports program is committed to excellence. As with all large, public schools, Page is forced to deal with an element that does not value education (and with parents eager to blame the school rather than their student), but the administration is committed to trying to motivate these students. So if your child is willing to pursue the accelerated track, Page has an excellent track record of success going back decades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

This school is making it hard for children of a certain genre to thrice and excel. Alot of the teachers are childish and they make it more of a competition to stay out of trouble than they do a learning experience. They sterotype and outcast some children. Very ignorant teaching staff. Cold and desensetized to the learning experience for children,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Excellent Teachers and Administrative Staff, who are Committed to providing, Top Quality Education for all students. As well as , Empowering our children for future growth and deveopment through daily exposure and interaction in a culturally diversed environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My son is a freshman student, attending this school. He is very enthusiastic about several of his classes. One in particular is, his Drafting Class. He is captivated by the artistic designs, he's creating. And also, the knowledge he's gaining through his Teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Great teachers, great traditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I am a parent. Page High School is a place with very caring teachers and a wonderful administration. Because it is a 'city' high school, the student body is quite diverse. This diversity has it's positives and negatives. My children have thrived there - both through the positives and negatives. If you have a self-motivated, confident, child with interest in accelling academically and/or artistically, and/or athletically, then they will get more out of Page High School than they could ever imagine. If you have a child who is not motivated to excell academically, is more interested in where the party is, or who tends to gravitate towards trouble, then perhaps Page is not the place for him/her. The talented teachers are there. Page has produced Morehead Scholars, Division I, II, and III athletes, Musicians, Artists, etc... If your child wants it, then he/she can be very successful there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Great School I just signed up and they got great clubs and group to join and there just great all along
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2008

I love this school, It has great activities for my student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

I'm a recent graduate and I feel I escaped just in time. During my years there I witnessed rampant administrative manipulation, often focused more on covering up and concealing dysfunction within the school than preventing or repairing it. As a student journalist I was muzzled and in one instance my athletic eligibility was actually threatened for political reasons. In recent years redistricting efforts have led to the introduction of many students previously districted to Dudley.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2005

My oldest daughter is a freshman at Page High School. We moved to Greensboro last year after 8 years in Winston-Salem, so adjusting to a new life at a new middle school where she had no friends was difficult at best. The faculty and staff at Page are excellent, from what I have seen, they treat all students and parents equally at Page. As a result my daughter has had a wonderful adjustment to highschool. I especially have to applaude Mr. Parrish, her drama teacher, and Mr. Flynt, her Science teacher who have both nurtured her interest in dramatics and art, without having a negative impact on the rest of her studies. So far I have had nothing but positive experiences with Page...keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2004

This school is a very balanced school and provides students with very challenging courses and teaching styles which I can say helps our students prepare for the future. Teaching staff at this school is actually not that bad, it is somewhat shifted to caucasian teachers, but I honestly have no complaints from either side. I feel that it is a very promising school academically and athletically. I would encourage you to send your children to this school having graduated from it myself I can say lots of things have changed but only for the better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

When I was a student, this school seemed more focused on its athletes rather than the academics. The majority of the student body was from affluent families making it difficult for others to fit in.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

439 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

570 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

430 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

501 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

193 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

433 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students13%
Female10%
Male16%
Black12%
Asian-5%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students16%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students61%
Female63%
Male58%
Black40%
Asian35%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial64%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted91%

English II

All Students60%
Female65%
Male56%
Black38%
Asian41%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial74%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 26%
White 40% 52%
Asian 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Patrice Faison
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 370-8219

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Alma Pinnix Drive
Greensboro, NC 27405
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 370-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Scale - Greensboro
Greensboro, NC



Grimsley High School
Greensboro, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT