Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peeler Open Elementary 2

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
I am a parent of a 5th grade student at Peeler. We have been there for 5 years. We loved the school and so did my daughter in the beginning but over time many things have slipped and finally this year the school is just not the same as it was. Peeler has lost multiple teachers this year leaving from the beginning the year up to December of 2015. The lost one whole grade level of teachers. They are doing blanket punishment for transgressions. The use to do really nice PACE nights (Performing Arts Community Events) where all the grade levels shared at least one of the arts. However to date this school year some classes have yet to have an art sharing. Some may not share at all this year. The communication was not the best in previous years but it is horrible now. Changes are made and parents are not informed. The school use to have a community feel but with the recent changes to morning drop off and picking kids up parents do not have a chance to connect with each other or even wave at their child's teacher. I can only hope things will change.

Peeler Open Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
They have some absolutely AMAZING teachers and some marginal teachers. I feel several fantastic teachers have had their wings clipped this year due to the principal's interpretation of the DOE requirements.


Peeler Open Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
Homework is usually given on a weekly basis. A student has an entire week to finish the homework before it is to be turned in.

Peeler Open Elementary
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
I can not answer this question because I have no experience with how teachers develop grit and determination in their students.

Peeler Open Elementary
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
I think they use to do a great job teaching respect. This year they have done a great job of not respecting students thus students aren't respecting each other or the staff.


Peeler Open Elementary
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
In some classes teachers do a great job of having kids participate in projects where they learn about compassion and caring for others. In other classes not so much.

Peeler Open Elementary
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
In previous years yes they did a great job, I am unsure about this school year. 2015-2016

Peeler Open Elementary 1

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
I have been at Peeler for a year now. I have both a K-1 child and a 3rd grader. I was very proud of my k-1 teacher but not so much at my 3rd grade teacher. I am a parent who believes that children have to also be taught at home but with my 3rd grader, I felt as if I was the only one doing the teaching. Many times I went to the school and the teacher had no control of the class. My child was ill-prepared for the EOG's although we helped at home. I thought this school to be very helpful for my children but the only thing that I still like about the school is the wonderful performing arts program. Other than that the school really needs some help. The principal, like others have said in these reviews is inefficient at his job and should be replaced.


Peeler Open Elementary 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
I think all of the school systems in the entire country are struggling with bullying. I do not feel that this problem is unique to Peeler; more of a symptom of families struggling in a tough economy. When I have expressed a concern to the principal, he has handled it immediately & with finesse. In the past several years we have seen legislation & practices adopted by the school board that have made it difficult to embrace a true "open school" philosophy. I think the principal & staff work very hard to live up to the school's OS philosophy while integrating an ever-changing curriculum. At Peeler we have teachers willing to participate in a variety of after-school clubs, a men's group that mentors struggling male students & does a lot of other work, a PTA that adds much to the richness of life for the entire Peeler community, an outstanding group of arts teachers, a garden and kitchen laboratory, a great librarian ... I think many of the problems referenced in other reviews are universal. I feel very fortunate to be a part of a school where it is possible to have a rich learning experience & encounter positive role models; something a lot of kids these days aren t finding at home.

Peeler Open Elementary 1

Posted March 09, 2014
- a community member
I am a grandparent of two students at Peeler. I am very concerned for the safety of my family at this school. The administration is not addressing behavioral issues of students sent to the office by teachers and concerns of the bullying voiced by the students. During the day academics are hard to addresses due to the two hours of instructional time taken out of the day for specials and morning meeting. Although this school has spent thousands on training teachers the Responsive Classroom concepts, the administration does not follow the concept nor does he adhere to the student handbook that specifically addresses discipline consequences. When a student has been sent to the office multiple times in one day, for incidences of physical aggression, and sent to a different teachers' classroom after each incident without any consequences, how can I expect that my grandchildren can be safe in such a disruptive environment. We need new administration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peeler Open Elementary
2200 Randall Street, Greensboro, NC  27401
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (336) 370-8270
Last modified Peeler Open Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top