Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ben L Smith High School 2

Posted October 12, 2011
- a student
The main way to describe Smith is "up and coming". We've seen a lot of improvements in the last year that shouldn't be forgotten. However, there's still some lingering problems. The school is broken up into Common Population, Honors, AP, and IB students. The main problem is the CP students. The students who don't take the initiative to take higher level classes are the ones who have a larger amount of behavioral problems. These behavioral problems mean less trust from the administration which leads to less fun opportunities for the whole student body (dances, fieldtrips, etc.) It's exciting to see what's offered to motivated students. Today, the top 50% of the senior class went to visit two prestigious NC colleges, and we have more trips planned for this year. We have first rate college advisers, and counselors meet with each grade level regularly to make sure everyone is on track for graduation. To sum it up, Smith is the best place one can be if they're motivated. We have amazing programs and opportunities. If they aren't, they will fail. Smith tries its best for failures (EOC retakes, tutoring several times a week, etc), but ultimately, success is an individual choice.

Ben L Smith High School 1

Posted February 24, 2011
- a student
This school is horrible. I went there in 9th grade and the students are terrible. A load of fights and the teachers could not control their students. Please do not send your kids who want to learn to this school, it's a horrible school.


Ben L Smith High School 1

Posted December 31, 2010
- a student
I think it is the worst school in the county too many fights the administrators dont do their job bullying is very common in school

Ben L Smith High School 2

Posted March 16, 2010
- a community member
Really the school overall is good. The problem that I have noticed even when I went to the school, was the lack of care on the part of administrative department. It takes forever to get a transcript (if they feel like sending one out), whoever is answering the phone seems to know nothing about the school, because no matter what you ask all you get is a BS answer and give you the run around.

Ben L Smith High School 5

Posted June 21, 2009
- a community member
This school really gets its students ready for the future


Ben L Smith High School 3

Posted May 29, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ben L Smith High School 3

Posted March 31, 2009
- a student
this is a good school that more parents should get their children enrolled into. Don't believe all of the negative things that you hear, we do good things also!!

Ben L Smith High School 1

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ben L Smith High School 1

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ben L Smith High School 2

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ben L Smith High School
2407 South Holden Road, Greensboro, NC  27407
(336) 294-7300
Last modified Ben L Smith High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ben L Smith High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.