Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ben L. Smith High School

Public | 9-12 | 1205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2011

The main way to describe Smith is "up and coming". We've seen a lot of improvements in the last year that shouldn't be forgotten. However, there's still some lingering problems. The school is broken up into Common Population, Honors, AP, and IB students. The main problem is the CP students. The students who don't take the initiative to take higher level classes are the ones who have a larger amount of behavioral problems. These behavioral problems mean less trust from the administration which leads to less fun opportunities for the whole student body (dances, fieldtrips, etc.) It's exciting to see what's offered to motivated students. Today, the top 50% of the senior class went to visit two prestigious NC colleges, and we have more trips planned for this year. We have first rate college advisers, and counselors meet with each grade level regularly to make sure everyone is on track for graduation. To sum it up, Smith is the best place one can be if they're motivated. We have amazing programs and opportunities. If they aren't, they will fail. Smith tries its best for failures (EOC retakes, tutoring several times a week, etc), but ultimately, success is an individual choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2011

This school is horrible. I went there in 9th grade and the students are terrible. A load of fights and the teachers could not control their students. Please do not send your kids who want to learn to this school, it's a horrible school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2010

I think it is the worst school in the county too many fights the administrators dont do their job bullying is very common in school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2010

Really the school overall is good. The problem that I have noticed even when I went to the school, was the lack of care on the part of administrative department. It takes forever to get a transcript (if they feel like sending one out), whoever is answering the phone seems to know nothing about the school, because no matter what you ask all you get is a BS answer and give you the run around.


Posted June 21, 2009

This school really gets its students ready for the future


Posted March 31, 2009

this is a good school that more parents should get their children enrolled into. Don't believe all of the negative things that you hear, we do good things also!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I've seen improvemnt in this school in the last four years, My grandson will be graduating from BLSHS this June, I think the principal has improved the overall rating of this school , has regurlar tutorials, even on Saturdays, keeps parents informed of academics, attndence, etc., works very hard to get parnet support. My experience with this school for the past four years has been great, and I commend the staff that has been there to assure my child remained focused and kept me informed when necessary if any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

This school is not that good, the principal has everyone on lock for no reason, we can't do anything around here. The assistant princple is very mean she suspend student for uncalled for reason .
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2007

I wish more parents would get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My daughter attended Smith High School and she fell in love with it. She made life long friends and the staff actively encouraged her to attend college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

My son entered Ben L. Smith High School during his senior year and he loved it! He wished he could have attended Smith all four years of high school. His was on the honor roll during his senior year, having not been the previous three years. He was very upset after have had to leave Smith High School and he wishes to become a teacher so that he can return to Smith to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

The new administration is by far somewhat incompetent because there is a lack of corroboration and common sense among them. Have you heard the new bell system? Just awful. Many improvements have been made. NOT! The new track field that has been implemented is just a green version of the old, worn out one, and the crew that 'fixed' it up did a great job, seeing as how they painted the grass too. The teachers would be better leaders than the leaders already in place. The teachers at least have better grammar and speech.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2005

I am a 2003 graduate of Smith High School, and I can say that the teachers at this school are great. For the most part, I enjoyed my four years here, but the shaky adminstration over the years has held this school back from becoming great like all the other schools in Guilford County. The test scores are quite disappointing, and may be due to the high number of students who speak english as a second language.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2004

Both my daughter, who is now 24, and my son, 16, attended Smith. So, as a parent I've been priveldged with seeing the evolution that Smith has gone through throughout the years. It is a diverse environment where I feel our youth can really build an understanding for other cultures. I must say, however, that I feel that the new administrators at Smith don't involve parents as much as they should and aren't quite as up to par as their predecessors and the school suffers for it. The teachers do seem to go above and beyond any school I've dealt with with my other two children. All-in-all I believe the school is still a wonderful place for a young-adult to learn and grow as a student and a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2004

Smith High School is one of the most diverse schools in the state. With the new leadership, the school is focused and the teachers are really interested in the students. It is unfortunate that there is such a negative perception of the school. When I visit the school it is always calm and I see young adult being young adults. The students at Smith are fortunate to go to school in such a diverse environment that is a true reflection of society. My child loves it at Smith and I continue to get necessary support from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My student attends Smith presently. The teachers are wonderful, intelligent, and know what they're teaching. Extracurricular activities are a unique part of the school, there are several clubs to join, and you can always start one if you see fit, all you need is to find an advisor. Over all, it is a good school. when you look deep inside. It is the best representation a school could have to the workplace environment. Students from 46 different countries speaking 47 languages.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

269 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
38%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

461 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

329 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

299 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

174 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

246 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students7%
Female8%
Male7%
Black7%
Asian15%
Hispanic6%
Multiracial17%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White7%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students9%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant7%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students25%
Female27%
Male22%
Black21%
Asian20%
Hispanic26%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students27%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically gifted67%

English II

All Students27%
Female31%
Male23%
Black23%
Asian29%
Hispanic32%
Multiracial39%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically gifted84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 26%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Asian 9% 3%
White 5% 52%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Donevin Hoskins
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 294-7313

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2407 South Holden Road
Greensboro, NC 27407
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 294-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Middle College At Uncg
Greensboro, NC


Shining Light Academy
Greensboro, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT