Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Philip J Weaver Ed Center 1

Posted August 18, 2012
- a student
As time has gone by Weaver has certainly waned in its ability to impress me. It may seem like a school for those who don't fit in, but in order to have any success at this school you must fit into a very specific mold. The (majority of the) staff seem to never want to go out of their way or go the extra mile for a student. There is not equal opportunity as there should be, although it may be performing arts and "different" that doesn't make it any less a HIGH SCHOOL. It is hard to transition into the real world after the little preparation given at this school. Once you are out, you are very glad to be out. This is purely based on experience in the Performing Arts sector, not the CTE.

Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter, a senior, has loved all 4 of her years at Weaver. She is a vocal major and while she does not intend to pursue a career in music, she has certainly received a very thorough musical education. The academics are also top notch. Most of the teachers are caring and committed to their students. The principal is top notch. He really takes the time to get to know each student on an individual basis. Weaver is everything a high school should be!

Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
Great school with engaged principle and faculty.

Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted June 12, 2007
- a parent
This is a performing arts academy, and for the arts it is superior in every way. Unfortunately, in Guilford County, you can't have it all, but I wish there were more opportunities for sports. I also would like to see more non-arts-related options, such as physics, speech and debate. All in all it is a great school, top-notch principal, good discipline, and alot of very talented students who are thrilled to be there.


Philip J Weaver Ed Center 2

Posted December 20, 2005
- a parent
From a students point of view the teachers offer no help on work. Basically I have to teach myself in my fourth period class and no help or instruction is provided by the teacher. To me its a waste of gas from my home school and very time consuming everyday to drive downtown. To some people this school is great and to many others its not. I would strongly recommend another school unless you are intrested in technology based classes because thats all weaver is.

Philip J Weaver Ed Center 4

Posted October 31, 2005
- a parent
It is a good school and my daughter enjoys it, though I think there should be less focus on 'core' curriculum and more emphasis on using the arts to teach all subjects. (Some core-subject teachers would probably do better at a traditional school.) Parental involvement functions are a bit chaotic and don't inform parents of new students very well. Our first year was more or less 'sink or swim'.

Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted December 24, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Philip J Weaver Ed Center 5

Posted January 20, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Philip J Weaver Ed Center
300 South Spring Street, Greensboro, NC  27401
(336) 370-8282
Last modified Philip J Weaver Ed Center is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Philip J Weaver Ed Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top