Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 661 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2012

We were redistricted to Eastern Elementary and our oldest child has had a fantastic year so far! He has been very involved in different activities, we have had teachers that have kept in contact with us over any needs. My youngest is in Kindergarten and she loves to go to school everyday. The principal is new this year and has been fantastic. The morale of the teachers is very upbeat and they all seem to genuinely care about the kids and the school. This has been a much needed and refreshing change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

We were redistricted to Eastern this school year and have been very happy. The school has been expanded and remodeled and looks like new. There is a new Principal this year and the Vice Principal was just awarded Vice Principal of the Year. The school is clean, organized and well run. The PTA is off to a great start. My daughter loves her teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Principal Leadership is poor. Her prime concern are the numbers & not the needs of the students. I think she forgets they are the reason she is there. She doesn't care about her teachers. If she doesn't like them, makes no difference how good they are she black balls them until either they quit or she creates situations to fire or transfere them. Since starting at Eastern 38 teachers have left, have been fired or transfered, and if she has her way another one is on their way out the door as well, and she is an excellent teacher that cares deeply for the needs of our children. The only classroom time that this principal has had was when she was a student. She has never been a teacher and has had no experience working one on one with children. Her experience is a piece of paper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

My children arrivedt at Eastern with no knowledge in English. One of them hated school. The staff is kind and more than understanding. I love this school . Both my children are fluent English speakers after 1 year and they both LOVE school. It's a pleasure to work with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

This school was aweful. My daughter (1st grade)was subjected to vulgar conversations between students, she was pushed around everyday by the boys. She had a book stolen by a student out of her backpack. It took us a month and a trip to the principal to get it back. The office staff are rude! Whether you call or go into the office. It also took them over 2 months to request my daughter records from the previous school, their excuse was the Sim person was new. The teacher was good though. My daughter did well in her class. The buses are old and run down. It broke down on the way home one afternoon. And they didn't call me I had to call them!! Take your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

After talking to many local teachers and parents, we were assured that this was a good school. I am disappointed with the teaching style and learning enviroment. More over, we are removing our son from this school as we have seen many of the skills he brought with him decrease. His social skills are waning as is his love of learning. Our greatest concern is the crude behavior he is learning from other students in his class. Unfortunately, we seem to be the only concerned parents, and quite honestly, there are no children in this class who I would normally consider his peer level. Often the teacher will 'turn his light to red' but when I try to address the issue neither he or she knows why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

I am a grandparent and I have a grandson that goes there and he is in kindergarten and so far we are not having a positive outlook on this school or the teacher that is teaching his class. The jury is still out on the principal but I will have a followup after the meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

Great school in a good location near city Rec and Parks center. Experienced teaching staff with good teacher to student ratio. A new principal took over in mid year so the jury is still out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female47%
Male40%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female45%
Male38%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female39%
Male51%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female36%
Male47%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students46%
Female42%
Male48%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students41%
Female40%
Male41%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students30%
Female21%
Male38%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 26%
White 32% 52%
Hispanic 12% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Cathy Kirkland
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 758-7508

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1700 Cedar Lane
Greenville, NC 27858
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 758-4813

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Peter's School
Greenville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT