Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Greenville Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 483 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2013

I don't have a child and don't know anyone whos kid goes to this school but I thought I'd share my experience anyway. I had to call the school regarding donations of school supplies to the school. After a couple of rings someone picks up and say "Hello!" but not in the friendly tone. I wasn't even sure I had the right number because it just did not sound professional like someone should sound when they work at the front desk. A few words into what I had to ask, I was interrupted and was told "Hold". After a few minutes my line was disconnected. Not sure if the lady answering was busy but there is simply no excuse to be rude like that. The worst part was when I called again, someone picked up and hung up immediately....so they thought. It turned out the phone didn't hang up all the way and I could hear a couple ladies speaking in the office . One thing I heard really clear was " I gotta get outta here" South Greenville Elementary, if a phone call alone is too much to handle, I wonder how you deal with the children who enrolls there? I never did get through and don't plan on trying to. To the lady who picked up that call, you need to get a different job. Your attitude stinks.


Posted June 5, 2013

I'm in the military, and have moved twice since my daughter was born. Of the three elementary schools she's been enrolled in, South Greenville is by far the most unprofessional. My family pays 100% for lunch, field trips, projects, and supplies; yet we are treated like we're bothers by both teacher and office staff. We were not allowed to speak with the teacher after school, and when we would return a call from the teacher, the office staff would most often forward us to the wrong extension or become belligerent. There are people begging for money in front of the liquor store when we pick up our child, as well as police presence at least once a week around the school from one altercation or another. There is a 20 minute window from 230 to 250 pm for you to pick up your child, and if you are outside of that window the phone calls will begin from angry school staff. We were given 15 minutes for a parent/teacher meeting on the actual planned meeting day, and were rushed out immediately after though we still had questions. Overall our experience with this school has been poor. We're planning on making Greenville our home, but will certainly be changing schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

My granddaughter hashadexcellent teachers. And the rest of the staff and principal have made school a great experience for her.


Posted October 9, 2008

As many other reviewers have said, we were also nervous/skeptical about sending our daughter to kindergarten here. She loves it and her teachers are wonderful. She's only been in school for a few months, but I'm already seeing growth. She is discussing letters, reading and even recognizes some words when she sees them on things in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

We were very nervous to send our son here for Kindergarten for the same reason as most parents. Other schools in town definitely have better locations, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I LOVE the staff and haven't talked to a parent that doesn't. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

I was skeptical about sending my child to this school because of the outside surroundings. But, Im glad my husband and I decided to let him go. The staff members there are so welcoming-and I love my child teachers learning style. I have another one entering elementary school next year, and can't wait until she can get the same learning enviornment as my current child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2006

Just by looking at the school and the area it's in, you would first think, this cannot be a good school. However, once you step inside, the attitude of everyone makes you think, this is indeed a family. My daughter attended this school form K-5, and my husband and I both feel, that this was the best elementary school in Pitt County. The involvement of the teachers as well as parents, was tremendous, and I actually cried when her time was over. I know that she will forever remember this school, because they taught her so much, and am proud to say that she has been an honor roll student since attending South Greenville and in her current middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

As many people say, 'you shouldn't judge a book by its cover' and the same should be said about South Greenville. The quality of education far exceeds the physical appearance of the school. The teachers view each child as a unique learner and strive to help each student grow. I trust the highly trained staff each day with the job of caring for and teaching my child. I am proud to be a part of South Greenville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

I think there can be some changes done with some extra fundings. But the overall view of the teachers to me is like anywhere else if you show that you care then they will show they care as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

My daughter attended this school for 3 weeks in Kindergarten. I pulled her out and paid for private school. I think is an unsatisfactory school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students17%
Female6%
Male29%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students17%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female20%
Male32%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students13%
Female19%
Male6%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students15%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students20%
Female22%
Male17%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students22%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students16%
Female18%
Male14%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students16%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students11%
Female-5%
Male19%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students13%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students16%
Female6%
Male24%
Black11%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students18%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 26%
White 12% 52%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Shawnda Cherry
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 756-3285

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

811 Howell Street
Greenville, NC 27834
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 756-7004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Peter's School
Greenville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT