Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wintergreen Primary School

Public | PK-2 | 696 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

I have 2 children at the school. Yes, they are strict and I welcome it. The lack of discipline is the reason the world is in the state it is in. Discipline should start at home. My children make good grade and love school. You have to be a active parent and work with your children at home. I fully understand that the teachers are not there to be my friend or my children's friend. They are there to teach. No, it is not a perfect school but it is great for a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

My child just started here and I'm very impressed how organized this school is, so far I have no complaints about Wintergreen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

My daughter started 1st grade in Wintergreen for the 2012-2013 school year. So far...so good. I am honestly surprised at some of the really low parent reviews. I have spoken with several parents in this school and I would have to say at least 90% of them are happy with the school. The following are what I would consider the pros and cons: PROS: Very "up to date" amenities, good diverse mix of kids (very balanced with no extreme minority group, curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming. CONS: The school is very large for a elementary school which may make it hard to "be heard" if you ever have a real issue. Most people I have talked to have loved their teachers. I'm sure (as in all schools) there may be a few teachers in this school you would want to steer clear of, but the majority of them are great (this is based on many people I have spoken with). With a school this large the chances exist that there will be a few not pleased and that is to be expected. I also would like to mention that my daughter was enrolled in a private school in g-ville for jr.K and K. We took her out for personal reasons, but I dont see any difference in the education level she is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2012

We have had a terrible experience at this school. The discipline methods are outrageous, it is like a mini military academy where kids do not have any freedom. We found out the teacher was yelling in my son s face, threatening him about how he would be punished at home, my son started having emotional problems, became withdrawn and started crying himself to sleep every night. We ended up pulling him out of school and home schooling him. The school management is not very helpful or understanding either. When we complained, instead of compassion and help, we were met with an attitude. Keep away from this school if you can. The management needs to start listening to the parents and needs to start changing the way this school is run. It is definitely not a fun, nurturing environment, very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

My child started K this year in this school. Oh, I wish I had read the reviews and I wish I have sent my child to another school. This is not a school... this is a very very strict environment for kids. In K kids should be happy about school, and not afraid of it. My child at the begging was afraid even to talk, or ask to go to the bathroom , because was afraid that he would get a bad report! And we are talking K. Not to mention that the principal is not at all cooperative with your problems. My child is a very good student, but still I am unhappy with the way they treat kids. They have some really bad rules to discipline the kids that are unheard to me. If you have a choice do not send your child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

I have 2 children at this school. My daughter started last year as a kindergartener and had a great teacher and no issues. My son has started this year and it has been horrible all the way through this first nine weeks. They are super strict on these young kids. They send negative notes home about the least little thing. They definitely do no like them to talk...at all! Kindergarten is supposed to be a fun time of learning what it is like to be in school and to try to adjust to this new environment. We never had any issues when he was in preschool; and it was a structured preschool. It is very disheartening when you have to constantly remind your child that they are a good child despite the negativity that is constantly coming home. We can't wait to be in a new district and try another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I can say that the school in whole is pretty good. My oldest child got really good teachers, my middle child not so good and was left behind and made to go to the next class even when I requested the principal hold him back, but!!! My kids came from Wahl Coates and was moved to Wintergreen and went from loving school to hating school. Wintergreen is like a drill school, principal is a drill sergeant and no elementary school should be like that, these kids should enjoy going to school at an early age because if not they will never like school. Now that my kids are at wonderful Chicod, they really love school!!!!! So, let's make school a fun learning environment!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I have been very unhappy with this school. My daughter went from loving school to hating school in less than 1 week. The work is fine if you do not want a child ready for college. When you tell them your concerns it takes them forever to get back to you. My chld will not talk to the teacher because she is afraid of getting into trouble for saying she is bored. This school needs to realize that going at a snails pace is not good for all students. They really need to address the students that are ahead of the class instead of holding them back. I am stuck in this school until I can get a diffrent place but if I had a choice I would stay as far away from this school as I could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

I think this is a good school. two of my children attend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

This school is above average for our area. We bought our home specifically so that our children would come to Wintergreen. But it is a gigantic school with 12 classes at every grade level! The personal touch just isn't there b/c it just can't be now that the principal is in charge of the intermediate school too. They stretch her way too thin and that leaves her no band-width to handle individual problems. I hear what all the other reviewers say. I wish our administration was out and about more. But the teachers are really good and my children have loved their 3+ years here. They are doing well academically, and I volunteer in their classes every week. So it can be done very easily. And the extra-curriculars like art and music once a week each are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Our Principal received 'Principal of the Year' this year!! She has an amazing calmness about her, yet is adament about her rules. This combination makes for a smoothly run school. I think this also allows the teachers, parents and students to respect her. My children are proud of their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

If I could give this school less than one star I would.This school has been nothing less than one headache after another for me and my children.Unfortunately we live within their school district.My chief complaint with this school is my child has special needs everyone from the teacher to the school staff does not understand his needs and they would like to label him with a different diagnoses.When did teachers become doctors? At this school they do not know what the word intervention means.The staff gets sarcastic overtones when you the parent have voiced your concerns.My child has failed and has actually regressed b/c of their lack of understanding in his needs.Do not let your child leave lunch money at home b/c they have a large problem extending any monies at lunch time even though they are reimbursed each and every time.Stay clear of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

My child was in the kindergarten last yr, and when I came to drop something off for a party I also was going to stay and visit, but then I felt as if I was not welcomed. Now this yr it's the same way,but I still come to see what is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I am also a disheartened parent whom has a child at this school. I can not believe the impact of poor leadership at this school. I am and will be involved with my child i am not going to 'drop him off and let him be independent' he is a child!!! Have these educators at this school ever had children? They would be the first to blame all problems on the parental involvement but i have yet to see them take a look at themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I can only hope that the 2007-2008 school year is a better year for all parents and their children. My children attended for one year and the dissapointment led me to homeschool. We are a month and a half into it and things couldn't be better. Stay involved! Don't assume things are a okay. It's not just about great teacher's it's overall 'leadership'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

My children have been at WGP for the last two years. I am disappointed that the teachers and Principal do not want the parents in the school, yet they want our money for fundraising. The principal needs to become more friendly with the parents and realize that we are here and want to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I am disappointed with the administration's lack of concern and attention to safety issues in the school. We have had repeated issues with one child's behavior towards our child at the school and after-school programs and the principal was unwilling to address the issue. She blew the matters off to the teacher and also to the after school program, even though there had been 5 incidents in one semester and we did not feel that there had been appropriate intervention. Again, we are very disappointed by the principal. On a positive note, our child has a very qualified teacher and we are pleased with the classroom instruction. We also do not feel that parent involvement is genuinely welcomed. I believe that this school is riding on it's relative 'newness' and aesthetic appeal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

This school is great and I love the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2005

My son has attended this school for 2 years now and has been very happy. The principal is very experienced and a very good leader. The teachers we have had have been wonderful and my son has thrived and matured. The music teacher is excellent and her enthusiasm is a welcome sight at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 52%
Black 30% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Mary Carter
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 353-5275

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4710 County Home Road
Greenville, NC 27858
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 353-5270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faith Christian Academy
Winterville, NC


Faith Christian Academy
Winterville, NC


Christ Covenant School
Winterville, NC


Christ Covenant School
Winterville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT