Advertisement

The Oakwood School

Private | PK-12 | 334 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Greenville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

This school has many positives such as security, a personal touch from the teachers and principal and cutting edge technology. Your faith is not shunned upon. however, this school is heavy on Greek and Roman myths. It is a great college prep school and character building school. The school is dedicated to the whole person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

I have two children at The Oakwood School and am very happy with their experiences. The teachers make an effort to get to know their students and help them reach their full potentials. Every year the program offerings, campus, staff and extracurriculars are improving and growing. Character development and learning to love learning are emphasized as well as community service. No school is perfect but this is the best option for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

The Oakwood School appealed to us for three primary reasons: the faculty and staff are engaged and excited about their work; the parent community is involved and inclusive; and most importantly, the students are obviously happy and eager learners. We looked for a school that provided academic excellence in a nurturing environment and we found that in Oakwood. My daughter loves to go to school each day and that makes it worth every penny. We believe fostering a love for learning is a priceless investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

The Oakwood School is very safe overall. Each student receives a laptop in the 4th grade. This is good and bad, it helps the students learn how to use technology and to access all of their notebooks on the laptop. This is a very elite school, I personally have been going to this school for 8 years. The middle school is very poor, the lower school is okay. The high school is very good. I am leaving The Oakwood School, because everyone is in small knit clicks and teachers favor children. The parents and teachers treat it like a country club.


Posted April 9, 2011

My honest thoughts on The Oakwood School is that overall, it is a great environment and is a very involved community. I can leave my laptop or my expensive instrument anywhere on the campus without hesitation and not worry about it being stolen. However, there are some major downfalls. For example, the math curriculum has rarely been up to par with other schools (esp. in lower-middle school). A lot of the academics aren't quite what you'd expect from such an expensive independent school. Also, quite a few of the teachers aren't qualified teachers and have no experience in the subject. This in my opinion is very inappropriate of such an expensive and higher class school, albeit several of the teachers are extremely good and know what they're doing. However, even it being higher class, I find my peers not to be snobby in a serious manor nor the staff or administrators to be rude. Overall this is a very good school, yet it has some minor and major downfalls. If you want a very safe environment and a very comfortable environment, then look no further. Yet, if you want a top of the line academic-focused school, I would look elsewhere, but do not take TOS out of consideration.


Posted April 15, 2010

We have a high school student at Oakwood and we're very pleased with the education he is receiving. The new headmaster has done an excellent job restoring school spirit and credibility. The faculty cares about the students and they are all very accessible to the students. At least 20% of the graduates ('09 & '10) have been accepted to UNC-Chapel Hill and the other students have done very well with the college admissions process as well. The school's athletic programs are improving and there are other extracurricular activites available as well. It's located on a nice, safe campus west of town. Admittedly, the student body is generally upscale but there is diversity and there are financial aid opportunities for academic excellence. While I don't have much first hand knowledge of the lower school, 99% of what I hear from those parents is positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

I love this school. bad thing is that some of the parents are extremely involved. but besides that i love the school. the classes aren't small and the teacher are very good. the sports program is well too. i reccomend thiss school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2009

The class sizes are small, the teachers are well supported and the children seem challenged and happy. Children are involved in community service from Kindergarten on. The tuition is very reasonable, especially when compared to larger cities where you may pay twice as much. It has been a good investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

I went to the oakwood school for 3 years. There middle school is very good. There high school is horrible! Teachers favor students they are very arrogant. The students are very fake along with the teachers. They have very little class choices for extra curricular.There are some things about the oakwood. The small classes and having the ability to use a computer and being able to leave your stuff out without being worried about your stuff being stolen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

i go to the school! i love it so much and i never want to go anywhere else!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2008

We've been at Oakwood from 1st grade through 8th. Although there have been some leadership / management issues over the past couple of years, I think it's clear the school is back on track. Not only is the academic environment high quality, it offers much more opportunity for student involvement in open ended projects and interaction with teachers and the like. Class sizes are intentionally smaller than the public schools in town and just as important students are sheltered to a significant degree from many of the social issues that plauge the public middle and high schools. That a child can leave their cell phone, backpack or even laptop computer (all of the students carry a laptop starting in 4th grade) on the breezeway and not fear that it will be stolen says an awful lot about the environment. The administration also fosters a strong sense of community service and involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Oakwood definitely experienced some growing pains over the last year, but the comment dated 8/9/07 seems almost from outer space. The educators at Oakwood have integrity and have exhibited an amazing sense of mission during a year of administrative upheaval. I have never noticed snobbish behavior from teachers. Many students are on financial aid, and they are there because of the quality of the education they receive. Choose Oakwood if you want an authentic experience for your child. They don't teach to a state test, and the education is challenging, appropriate, and child-centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

The Oakwood School in Greenville, NC is a very new school. It does not have excellence of a private school like Ravenscroft in North Raleigh. With time it may become a school of that caliber, but as of yet it can not compare. It is disappointing in the fact that parents and administrators act like this is a country club for children. Rather than focusing on education, the educators are pandering to the parents with cutesy type things. All this artificial cuteness and an applied superiority over public school students gets a little old. I have noticed on several occasions teachers, administrators, parents and children exhibiting snobbish behavior. This is ridiculous. Our children should be enrolled in The Oakwood School to receive the best education not to feel superior to others who do not have earning potential which affords us the opportunity to have our children attend a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

overall quality is very god, but there is a definite lacking in leadership and organization. In addition, some of the more important social issues are falling through the cracks in the older grades and tuition costs are spiraling. music and art are great, but sports programs are very poor overall. Parent involvement is good overall, but many of the personalities are difficult. This is a school largely for the local social elite. Most of the kids are given pretty much whatever they want which can be difficult for the ones who's parents set limits on such things. The administration committed to uniforms several years ago which would have gone a long way toward curbing some of the associated difficulties for students, but has recently waffled on that commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

The Oakwood school is the most wonderful environment to have your child in. They flourish academically and socially. The children learn with excitement and eagerness. The staff becomes like extended family for the parent and the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

My child has been through grades K-4. So far the Oakwood School has been fabulous. My son has flourished and I have been extremely pleased. Grades K through 2 were almost perfect. Lots of parent involvement and a tightly-nit community. Kids are respected. Teachers appear to be very happy for the most part. Class sizes have been very small, and my son has had at the most, 12 classmates, until this year (now 18). Very expensive school, however. Many complain about that, and parents feel 'nickle and dimed' quite a bit. But I believe my son is quite safe at Oakwood and the student body, as far as I have seen, seems to lack terrible behavior problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Best independent school in the area. Innovative technology program. Everyone should take a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

I have never seen a school with so much Parent Involvement. The teachers are the absolute best. Just visit this school and you will see the difference for your self. Web page www.theoakwoodschool.org
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 53%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Robert R. Peterson, Head of School
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (252) 931-0964

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 MacGregor Downs Road
Greenville, NC 27834
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 931-0760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakwood School
Greenville, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT