Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edneyville Elementary

Public | K-5 | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2011

The entire staff has been outstanding at Edneyville. Our boys have been there for four years and we have been nothing but impressed. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

Our experience with Edneyville Elem has been nothing but incredible. Our kids have now being going to school there for a couple of years and every teacher has been involved and concerned with our children's education. I believe that the leadership starts at the top and for that you look at the principle and vice principle, they are both exceptional in our book. Kudos the them and the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

I love this schoo! I spent 6 years with my daughter and now in the 4th year with my son. I grateful for the teachers and the principal. My kids have received a great education. The teachers have loved my kids. It is a warm family friendly elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

WORST SCHOOL EVER! TRANSFER KIDS OUT TO OTHER SCHOOLS AND KNOCK THIS ONE DOWN! NIGHTMARE!! SAVE YOUR KIDS THE NIGHTMARE AND KEEP THEM AT HOME IF YOU ARE FORCED TO ATTEND!! NIGHTMARE! TWO YEARS LATER AND MY KDIS STILL TALK ABOUT IT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I am so unhappy with this school! I am a Mother of 6 children and we moved here from Florida. Thought the education here would be much better...I was wrong! The entire office staff is so unfriendly...only a few good teachers at the school...you are lucky if you get one. Mr. Keller is prob. the only good thing about the school. The principal does not handle anything at the school...states he will take care of any problems that arise...but never does. He went from being a HS principal to an Elmentary Principal...moved in the wrong direction! Parents do not feel welcome there at all...can't wait to get my kids out of there! Gave 2 Stars only because Mr. Keller is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The whole staff is deicated to making sure all the childern learn in the most creative and fun ways.The kids are taught to be respectful to one another by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Edneyville is the best school! We have great students, families and teachers!! I am a proud parent of a graduate and a second grader as well as a teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

I am new to Edneyville we moved from the Clear creek district, my boys and I love the new school so far. The teachers are wonderful, and the principle always nice and helpful. I like that it feels small and tight knit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I had to transfer my daughter in the middle of the year to Edneyville. I have to say at first I did not like it at all. Some of the people in the office was very rude and I didn't think some of the teachers were up to par on some things. BUT, even though her teacher & I had some disagreements she never treated her any different than the other kids. She loved her teacher, and did not want to see the school year end. So for every thing the did for my child, I have to give them a thumbs up. Even though I still have mixed feelings about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I am very disappointed with this school. We come from South Carolina and there the school seemed so inviting. I have found at Edneyville most of the teachers and staff are not friendly and they act better than you. When I go to the office they act as if you are not there and you have to wait a while and the person at the desk usally has an attitude. I am thinking about homeschooling next year. The principal isn't friendly either, it seems as though you have to be of a certain social group to be accepted. My two kids teacher are the only nice and friendly people in the school and that is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

After 4 years in Montessori, we are thrilled with the learning that our son is receiving in Mr. Keller's third grade. Our son loves his teacher and his principal and respects them both which we feel makes him want to learn. Mr. Keller really cares about our child learning to read better and keeps in great communication with us as parents. We love that our child can't wait to go to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I would have to admit that I am so disappointed with this school. My son was in a private school before we moved here and was above grade average. This is the second school he has gone to here the first being Faith Christian, and its beyond words it was so bad, but, his education level has dropped immensely from where he was and where he is now. The vise-principal, truly is lacking in PR. You have to be of a certain social standard for this school. You will notice the differ. in treatment by the principal. The teacher Mrs. Fowler is something not incouraging, to the kids or parents. I am desperately wanting my son out of this school. He use to be excited about school, now it takes everything to get him out the door. Thats not right! You never know what is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

I have three kids who have attended Edneyville Elementary.I have been so impressed with the loving and nuturing environment that is felt there. The faculty and staff care deeply about each child. I would recommend Edneyville to anyone who cares about enrolling their children in an environment that fosters a safe and happy place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female26%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female30%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female45%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female48%
Male38%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students27%
Female27%
Male27%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female31%
Male20%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students27%
Female27%
Male27%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Hispanic 28% 14%
Black 2% 26%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Donna J. Brackett
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 685-4006

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2875 Pace Road
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 685-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dana Elementary
Hendersonville, NC


Sugarloaf Elementary
Hendersonville, NC


Clear Creek Elementary
Hendersonville, NC



Upward Elementary
Flat Rock, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT