Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rugby Middle

Public | 6-8 | 871 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

I have now left Rugby Middle School to go across the street to West Henderson High School. I am very upset at both schools. I am shocked that Rugby is rated a 9 out of 10. It could very well be one of the worst schools in the country. They are uncaring about any of their students unless they are "popular" among the rest of the students.They don't solve any of the problems in the school. Even the some of the teachers at Rugby are bullies. I honestly hate Rugby along with the rest of Henderson County Schools. If you can avoid going to this school, please do.


Posted October 10, 2013

My son went from homeschooling to RMS and I wish every day I could go back and change that decision. My son's life was forever altered by the severe bullying he was subjected to by fellow students for the entire 6th grade. When it continued in the 7th I removed him but the damage had been done. I only wish I had asked better questions and demanded more details so I might have prevented the emotional toll it took. He was told on a daily basis to do everyone a favor and to "just go home and shoot yourself". I'll never forgive myself, the staff at Rugby for allowing it to continue nor the offending students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school had my child bullied everyday. The staff wouldn't do anything about it either. Everyday I was scared that she had thoughts of suicide. I took her out of RMS and moved her to AVMS, where she got treated so much better. I would suggest going to AVMS rather than RMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Rated the teachers at 3, but honestly, most are 4s or even 5s. The 1s, however, are a toxic combination of bad and mean, and the office does nothing to address these situations. Complaints seem to be in a sharp uptick over the past 3 years. Not sure where the tone is being set, but it seems to get more negative with each passing year. Sad to watch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

Rugby Middle School is a horrible school to go to. They don't care about any of their students, their staff are mean and disrespectful. They don't handle bullying the way it should be. I have witnessed some teachers actually bullying some students. Yes I do love some teachers, but others I don't want to be around. They may seem like a fantastic school, but I am thrilled to be moving onto high school. I do not like Rugby Middle School!!


Posted January 5, 2013

Rugby Middle School is overall an okay school. But, their tardy regulations that they added this year is ridiculous. And so is their take on bullying. I was called rude names, gossiped about and insulted. I directly told the principle and both assistant principles directly about five times and nothing was done about it. Then earlier this week, I accidental poked another student with a safety pi on accident. Then he directly called me "fatty". He told on me and the next day we were sent down to the office. I got two days of ISS and he got NOTHING. I was also searched for safety pins, as they were reported as "weapons". I will not be attending RMS any longer.


Posted April 30, 2012

I am a parent of an eigth grade student at Rugby Middle School. While she makes A-B honor roll each time and has never made a "C" during her 3 years there, I am very disappointed in the school overall. I feel that some of the teachers are excellent and that the strings program is exceptional and am very grateful to those who have had such a positive influence on my child. As for many other aspects of her middle school experience, however, she has stuggled and been ridiculed by another (both publicly and privately) which has been unsatisfactorily dealt with by administration over the past two years. As a result of this and several other issues. my now 4th grader will not be attending RMS. We are a hard working, well-respected family who fully support our children and their education. We will not, however, support a school which we feel does not put children and their concerns first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

This school has its ups and downs. First of all this school is pretty much run by 'Populars' if you are a popular already then you will have a whole lot of friends. There are a lot of popular kids and most of them arnt that nice and are usually really full of themselves. I am not a popular but I did make friends. This school is really good academic wise. I feel that I have learned something everyday when I come home from school. The teachers are great and so is the orchestra. If you are or want to be part of the orchestra this is the right school to go to. We go and do a lot of things outside of school and we are known for our orchestra program.


Posted October 21, 2010

I am a former 8th grader of Rugby mMiddle school. I went there all through middle school. It is a pretty good school, but they have implemented a lot of rules that I do not agree with. Such as, walking on the right side of the hall, getting ISS (in school suspension) for saying retarded. Though, on a good note, the staff is very friendly and nice. The school DOES NOT have much diversity, when I was there in 8th grade for the 2009-2010 school year, we had about 5 black kids, and a couple asians. It was mainly made up of hispanics and whites. Though, you will not find a lot of diversity in any other middle school in the area. Overall, RMS is a pretty good school, but when I was there I had a different princible every year I was there, but now they have 1 permanent principle.


Posted December 6, 2008

I am an eighth grader at Rugby with high education values and I believe that I recieve a superb education while attending this school, although, as previous reviews have stated there ar major issues with cliques and stereotyping. If you have a child that is not strong enough to take a lot of crittial comments and teasing, I would not reccomend Rugby. If you have a clever child that can take severe criticism, this is a fantasic place to enroll them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

Great School. A tad bit of a clique problem, but nonetheless a great learning environment. I love RMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

Rugby seems to bea well rounded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

Rugby is an outstanding school, the best school I have been involved with in my lifetime and that includes a private school. Great Job!


Posted January 9, 2008

Teachers love and care for you always.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2007

Rugby has a reputation for being an academically strong school and one of the best middle schools in WNC. Recently, new leadership has taken over and there is not the same caring and concern for the students as in the past. The focus is more on 'administrative' issues rather than the children's needs. This is still one of the best middle schools (academically) in the area but parents need to ask questions and stay informed if they want to know the actual happenings in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

My child attended Rugby for over 18 months and was tagged as trouble maker instead of different -- this school has zero tolerance for children who have any special needs. Instead their answer is to constantly place a child that needs help in suspension, rather than making an effort to truly determine what to do to help them. I feel that the school has some great young teachers who care but their hands are tied. They wouldn't even act to assist their own teachers with difficult situations with my child. My recourse rather than let my child be doomed to failure was to pull him out of this school, which sits in my tax district and place him in a private school.The leadership at the school is also non-existant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students60%
Female62%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students64%
Female68%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female55%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students55%
Female59%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial73%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities37%
Non-disabled students95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-95%
Female-95%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-95%
Academically gifted-95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 52%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 1% 26%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr William E Reedy
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (828) 891-6589

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3345 Haywood Road
Hendersonville, NC 28791
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 891-6566

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Leaf Academy
Hendersonville, NC


Talisman Academy
Hendersonville, NC



Captain Gilmer School
Hendersonville, NC


Hendersonville Middle
Hendersonville, NC


Immaculata Catholic School
Hendersonville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT