Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Atkinson Elementary 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
We have only been here since the February of last year. Our oldest daughter who is in 5th grade has been suffering with anxiety disorder. The principal and staff have done everything in their power to help her not only be in school but, also comfort and reassure her. Our youngest daughter has had no such problem and loves school. She is an honor roll student and has adjust well. I cannot thank the staff at Atkinson nor the Principal Mr. Johnson enough.....thank you all for everything.....

Atkinson Elementary 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Atkinson, and so far I have found it to be an excellent. school. The teachers and staff are friendly and helpful and my son seems to be completely immersed in his education. His current teacher, Mrs. Burnette, has been responsive to our concerns and is providing a high quality level of instruction. I am thankful our son has the opportunity to go to such an excellent school.


Atkinson Elementary 1

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
I am a certified teacher for 20 years. I have worked at some good schools in Henderson County but Atkinson is the worst school. I am the mother of 4, my oldest two are adopted. My son and daughter both have severe Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS). They both have dyslexia, my son has ADD and my daughter has ADHD. Both my children receive OT therapy weekly: and have for almost 6 years. My son has been in speech for 6 years. His IQ is 70. He was denied ALL special education services. I begged, I pleaded, all to no avail. I have 7 different doctor evaluations that all said he needed special services, the school said he didnt. Our family doctor even went to talk to the principal and was told that my son doesn't need services now. I was told maybe when he was older he may get some services but he meet all tge criteria now. Oh, did I mention I am a special education teacher who was told my children were not special enough by Atkinson. So, run,walk away, do anything you can to never have to deal with this school. I fought long and hard for over a year and finally gave in. My kids now get the proper education they are entitled to, but at no thanks to Atkinson.

Atkinson Elementary 4

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
I have 2 Kids in Atkinson, this is the best Elementary School that Cares about the children. They really try and take the time with the children. When i went to Elementary School, I luckly went to Atkinson, where my to girls go now.

Atkinson Elementary
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Teachers respect the children's individuality and encourages the children to be themselves. Teaches the children to respect one another. It is a school that supports the meaning of 'family'.


Atkinson Elementary 5

Posted February 18, 2008
- a parent
We recently moved out of state, but prior to our move Atkinson was the only school our children had attended. We never realized how blessed we had been until we left the nuturing environment. Our kids were welcomed by each teacher they had, and the communication with parents is something I recently realized is above expectation. Atkinson gave our children a head start on their education and raised our expectations as parents.

Atkinson Elementary 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Atkinson school is a great school. I have had all four of my children go there and they learned and did very well. I moved out of state and the schools there seem to be far behind what we are here. I moved back after one year so that my children could have better learning. Our schools in Hendersonville NC are great.

Atkinson Elementary
no rating

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
What an incredible school and group of people to be associated with. I have one child at Atkinson and continued to be more impressed every day! The principal as well as the teachers and ALL staff members are nothing short of wonderful! ALL of them are always available to hear our concerns/ideas and/or comments. It's always clear that the kids are number 1 and the kids are what it's all about!


Atkinson Elementary 5

Posted July 15, 2007
- a parent
We have 2 children enrolled at Atkinson and have always been impressed by their concern for the kids, as well as their involvement with the parents. The faculty has been available to us when we have had concerns with safety, and has taken time to address the problems we've had. I love this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atkinson Elementary
2510 Old Kanuga Rd, Hendersonville, NC  28739
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (828) 697-4755
Last modified Atkinson Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top