Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Viewmont Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Ms.Norton - kindergarten teacher Ms.Stalvey - first grade teacher principal - Mr.Hodakowski They made my son excited to go to school everyday !!!

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
This is awesome school. My son started here in kindergarten in the best teacher's class Caitlin Norton. She is pretty young and have her own way of teaching. My son wanted to go to school everyday because of her, even when he was sick.(We have changed 3 school, none compared to Viewmont). He loved his teacher. This is pretty cool. Next year he had Stacey Stalvey, she is first grade teacher. He spent summer in russia and forgot english a little. Mrs.Stalvey made sure he was involved in activities, and understood everything. Viewmont have all kinds of races in there. Never heard of bullying. Everybody are super nice. For example we had to move and my son in different school right now, which he doesnt like and he misses Viewmont school, teachers and students every day. :(


Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Viewmont is a great school. We were concerned when the principals changed for the 2012-13 school year; however, things could not have gone smoother. The new principal and vice-principal are fabulous and really care about the students. The changes they have made have been nothing but positive. I like the way the staff and teachers do their best to emphasize teaching over testing.

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
Great Principal. Progressive reading program. Children taught to respect others. Proud to send my child here.

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful School! My kids attended another school in the city of Hickory and the language, stories and attitudes they brought home were horrendous. We pleaded with the principal of Viewmont and she allowed us to enroll our kids there, even though we live a few blocks out of district. It's been a night and day difference. My kids don't get exposed to the language and attitudes that they did at the other school and they truly enjoy going to school. My youngest child has been waiting for 2 years to attend Viewmont with his siblings and he absolutely loves his Kindergarten teacher. My kids haven't had a teacher yet (and we have 4) they didn't like. Parent involvement is awesome and the staff and administration are top-notch!


Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted September 02, 2008
- a parent
I absolutely love this school! My son is in the first grade and has an absolutely wonderful teacher. He attended kindergarten at Viewmont as well for most of the year, but for a about a month and half last year he attended a Catawba Co. school and I could not believe the difference! I felt like my son was back in a daycare! When he came home in the afternoons he could not tell me anything that he had learned and he had no homework and no reading or sight words to learn, while he enjoyed no homework I worried about him falling behind and getting lazy on me. So this summer I moved back to Hickory just so he could once again attend Viewmont! I love this school and I love that they push the kids to do their best and use their full potential!

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
The people are what makes the difference. The administration and staff are excellent top to bottom and my 2nd grader absolutely loves his teachers and the school.

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a parent
This is a fantastic school. We moved here six months ago and my 5th grader loves it. The teachers are great and very communicative.


Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted December 15, 2005
- a parent
I could not be happier. Viewmont Elementary has embraced my adopted child and help him to feel that he is an important part of the school family. He's learning and growing in many ways due to their input. This school exposes him to many cultures and nationalities and helps him to learn to embrace all people. I firmly believe what Hillary C. says 'It takes a Village'. We've found ours. Thank You Viewmont Elementary! K. Wilkinson

Viewmont Elementary 5

Posted January 10, 2005
- a parent
Viewmont is a wonderful school. The staff is very friendly and the children and families are all made to feel welcomed. The school stresses reading and allows many opportunities to help children reach their highest potential.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Viewmont Elementary
21 16th Ave Nw, Hickory, NC  28601
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (828) 324-7049
Last modified Viewmont Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top