Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


Hickory Day School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
We wish every child in America could receive this quality of education. It has been a phenomenal experience with the most qualified and dedicated administration and staff. Our children are thriving at Hickory Day School.

Hickory Day School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Hickoy Day School is an authorized PYP International Baccalaureate World School, I believe on of the only in North Carolina. It teaches students to think on a more globel level. In addition Hickory Day has 'gone green' working to reduce the schools carbon footprint with activities and objectives like a no-power hour and a Zero waste lunch. We are a new family to the school and have been welcomed by the staff and faculty with open arms it truely is a community of loving caring individuals working towards one goal. That goal is to provide our children with and an encouraging and enriching environment to learn and grow as individuals with an awareness and understanding of the world around them. A priceless task in todays ever shrinking world.


Hickory Day School 5

Posted May 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hickory Day School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hickory Day School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Hickory Day is the premier school in Western North Carolina. Our child looks forward to going to school every day and is excited about sharing what he learns with us. We continue to be astounded at the variety of concepts and ideas that he is exposed to. The small class size makes many different types of learning opportunities possible that just couldn't happen in other schools. We believe that exposure to art, music and wellness are an essential component of a child's learning process. We did not find another school that included these activities into every school day like Hickory Day does. Because of the small size, families get to know each other and all of the children get supported by an extended 'family' which includes the teachers and administration. The result is a happy, successful and well-educated child.


Hickory Day School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
In addition to the low teacher to student ratio and interesting curriculum, Hickory Day School offers more of the things you miss from many public schools today: creative arts, language class, P.E. A feeling of cooperation and inclusion between teachers and students throughout the school. This is teaching geared to the individual student. Children are encouraged to think, create and learn not just in one way, but in their own way.

Hickory Day School 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2007
- a teacher
The learning environment that has been created here produces extraordinary results with students moving on feeling confident, proud, and globally aware. The staff consistently provide opportunities for all students to enjoy success.

Hickory Day School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
We have struggled for years trying to find a school that could help us with our daughters learning difficulties and the challenges she faces on a day to day basis. Hickory Day has exceeded all of our hopes and expectations. The teacher to student ratio is kept low and the International Baccalaureate program is an amazing learning experience. The children are taught to think 'outside the box' and encouraged to express their individuality. They are supported by peers, administration, and families and no child is left unchallenged. We love this school and so does our daughter....our only regret is that we didn't find it earlier!!!!!! A++++


Hickory Day School 5

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hickory Day School 0
no rating

Posted August 30, 2007
- a parent
I love HDS. The International Baccalaureate program is head and shoulders above any educational philosphy in NC. The teachers teach the children to think critically, problem solve, and be great leaders. I could not be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hickory Day School
2535 21st Avenue Northeast, Hickory, NC  28601
Last modified Hickory Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Hickory Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.