Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grandview Middle 5

Posted November 23, 2012
- a community member
I've visited this school many times as the significant other of one of the teachers. I completely agree that this school is run like a tight ship, but the kids that it produces are some of the best in the county. If you want an administration that doesn't care about the actions of students, go somewhere else. Grandview is full of hands-on administrators and teachers who truly care about the attitudes, manners, and educations that the students are receiving. When I have children, Grandview and Dr. Howerton are the exact experience I want my kids to have.

Grandview Middle 3

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
This school is run very tight - silent halls, ISS for incomplete homework, or missing a problem and "double ISS or Afterschool time" if the principal just happents to see a student in silent lunch. There is big trouble for the most minor of offenses. Great place for students facing behavior issues and overachievers with 0 problems but, a nervous or shy student or those who mess up sometimes would struggle.


Grandview Middle 5

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grandview Middle 5

Posted July 21, 2009
- a parent
I have been consistently impressed with every level of faculty, from the principal to the bus driver. The atmosphere and attitude among the staff is very positive and child-centered. My child has been afforded many opportunities through the AG classes, music and athletics, and she has been encouraged and nurtured at every turn. Could not ask for a better experience.

Grandview Middle 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2009
- a teacher
Grandview is a wonderful place to work. Dr. Howerton provides an atmosphere that is structured, guiding, and caring. Students and teachers are very blessed to be at Grandview.


Grandview Middle 2

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
The school is run like a dictatorship. I would not advise sending my child there.
1 person found this helpful

Grandview Middle 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
Dr. Vanessa Howerton sets the tone for Grandview School, and with her leadership it is an incredible place for middle schoolers to learn and grow up! The teachers are very engaged with the students, the facility is immaculate and the kids are well-behaved and well-managed.

Grandview Middle 2

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grandview Middle 1

Posted August 21, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grandview Middle
451 Catawba Valley Boulevard Southeast, Hickory, NC  28602
(828) 328-2289
Last modified Grandview Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grandview Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top