Advertisement

High Point Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 700 students

Our school is best known for its loving, caring environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in High Point

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

Best educational decision we could have made for our children. I wouldn't have them anywhere else! Academics, Athletics, and Arts are all represented well but most of all, Christ is the foundation of all of these. We love HPCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We are so blessed to have our children taught in a loving Christian environment that also maintains a high level of academic instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

High Point Christian has worked hard since its beginning in 1996 at providing excellence in education while, at the same time, creating an atmosphere of love and support for our over 600 students and their families. Every grade level K-8 is involved each year in service projects for our community. Students at the high school level design their own Life Of Influence plan that builds during each year 9-12. By the time they graduate, they have invested many hours and energy in serving others in a way they believe is specific to their individual strengths and interests. Our seniors last year scored 90% pass rate on AP exams, with 100% participation, and as they graduated they were awarded over $3.4 million in scholarships to colleges and universities. Our athletic program has won several state championships over the years, as our coaches stress the Honor Code to every athlete --- honoring our opponents, honoring the referees, and honoring God in the way we play our sport. With highly experienced and dedicated teachers, award-winning fine arts department, and many other quality features, HPCA will continue to strengthen its curriculum through technological advances and best practices.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2010

We just love this school, teachers are filled with love and the activities are well plan. Very Good management
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My children have attended HPCA for 6 years, and we could not be happier. The teachers are loving and nurturing and teach the students with the Bible as the foundation. Academically, this school is excellent, and I would not want my children to go to any other school, and neither would they.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

This is the best decision we have ever made. My son has been here for 5 years now. He has self-confidence and an inner strength he would have never gotten in Public schools. I have had a child graduate from public school, his spirit was crushed, and he has no self-esteem. My youngest does better in his academics because he believes that he can do it, and if he messes up it's ok. He has very close friends. You become friends with the teachers themselves. The staff is welcoming. Going to a Christian school doesn't just mean you get a Bible class, it means you at taught as a child, you are loved as a child, and the children know they are true gifts of God with a purpose in this world! Thank You Mr. Hardee for working so hard for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

I love High Point Christian Academy, it has been an answer to our prayers. Our oldest graduated last year and was very well prepared for college and our son will be a rising Sophomore next year. The staff is wonderful and encourages all students to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

My children have attended HPCA for 9 years, since 3 year old preschool. My oldest is know in the 7th grade and youngest in the 3rd. They love the school and teachers. The Headmaster, Mr. Hardee is wonderful. Only drawback is the cost, but it's well worth if you compare with the quality of public eduction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

High Point Christian Academy has an excellent athletic program which is growing stronger each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

We have been really pleased with HPCA. Our childs teacher last year, Debbie Peel, was a real inspiration to are child. The atmosphere is friendly and the faculty is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

I love High Point Christian and so do my children. It excels in academic excellence and spiritual principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 53%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Preschool
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 97% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Richard Hardee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • SBACS
Fax number
  • (336) 841-8701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/Vans for activities
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Needs based from endowment

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 3%
4 year college - 97%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Phillips Avenue
High Point, NC 27262
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 841-8702

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ferndale Middle School
High Point, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT