Advertisement

High Point Friends School

Private | PK-8 | 100 students

HPFS offeres advaceed math and science courses as well as experiential learning.

 
 

Living in High Point

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $114,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

I like the school its a great place for education I have learned so much but the school needs to control bullying better


Posted May 29, 2013

(Continued Thoughts from earlier post...) Finally, I feel that I need to address an earlier posting which states that HPFS "...caters to families with the most financial resources...so certain children are treated more favorably than others." If this were indeed the case (a direct correlation between my income/assets and the treatment of my children), then my son and daughter would have been treated quite unfavorably at HPFS. On the contrary, they were finally given a chance to explore, lead, and develop their interests and skills at HPFS, whereas there were always challenges to these venues in their other schools. Thank you, HPFS staff and faculty, for being there for my children in the recent past, and for continuing to maintain that relationship, "as needed," with our family to this day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

I cannot express how much this school, teachers and staff have cared for, nurtured & educated our children. They have also challenged, corrected and brought out the best in each of our children. The ability to focus and foster the strengths of each individual student is probably one of their greatest attributes. Something that most parents probably overlook, is a schools ability to help students take on greater responsibility and leadership rolls both in the classroom and the community. This is one area where HPFS excels! This is clearly demonstrated in the many student led programs and the success of recent graduates, moving into much larger high schools, that have become SGA leaders and involved in many aspects of their new schools. Educating children is more than just grades. It's helping them grow, expand their horizons and become confident in achieving their goals. Unequivocally, this is the best kept secret in education in High Point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2013

I am so proud to call HPFS home for my child. It is comforting to know that every morning when I take my daughter to school, I can rest assured that she will be receiving the very best in academics, but more importantly, that she will be loved and cared for by her teachers in a safe and nurturing environment. I cannot say enough about the time and devotion the teachers at this school put into the children. My daughter has grown so much academically, spiritually, and morally. HPFS is successful in creating an environment that focuses on developing her as a whole child by inspiring creativity, compassion, social skills, self-knowledge and providing top-notch academics through life experiences. It is with pleasure that we are sending our second child to Kindergarten next year at HPFS to embark on this wonderful journey. We are so happy that we chose High Point Friends School for our children's educational career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

Bullying does indeed exist at this school and it starts with the teachers. Using frequent humiliation and sometimes verbal and emotional abuse, teachers pick on some of the children. They encourage the other children to do so as well. This school caters to those families with the most financial resources to give so certain children are treated more favorably than others and bullying by some children is tolerated. Academically, the teachers of this school provide a mediocre education. A lot of the learning of new concepts occurs after school through homework assignments and with a great deal of parental assistance. Parents are also frequently encouraged to hire tutors rather than have their children ask their teachers for help. Just because you are paying for education, does not mean you are receiving the best education. This school does not provide a kind and nurturing environment for all children. Try to look below the surface and think long and hard before sending your children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

This school tolerates bullying and refuses to acknowledge that it happens in this school. Several teachers are bullies and allow students to be bullies. I do not recommend this school to anyone and wish I had not sent my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

As a recent graduate of High Point Friends, I have received so many opportunities here that no other school can offer. I have attended HPFS since I was two years old. Coming here to HPFS has made me a much better person in many different ways. I have participated in various sports. We have 5 sports total: Soccer, Flag Football, Volleyball, Basketball and, Cross Country. All of the sports are co-ed, which allow mutual respect that the athletes offer to one another. In addition to sports, academic classes allow students and teachers to have an incredible relationship that no other school can offer. I feel like I have had the best preparation for high school both socially and academically.


Posted June 7, 2012

I am a recent graduate of High Point Friends School. Our class had 10 students, and 60% of us had been together since kindergarten or before. We are all great friends and we are very close to each other. Three of my best friends and I are going to Westchester next year, and I am not looking forward to leaving. I have had many great experiences at High Point Friends School that have prepared me for High School including the exciting overnight field trips.This school has helped me overcome many things. An example of which is when I first came to this school, I didn't like to go out of my comfort zone or try new things. However, when I was in second grade, we got a new head of school, and he helped me get over this fear, and he is now a very good friend of mine. The teachers and staff at this school are very kind and compasionate, and I could not have asked for anyone better. My favorite teacher is the Social Studies teacher/athletic director, and my fellow classmates and I have become very close to him. I have had a great time at this school and I will miss it very much. THANK YOU HIGH POINT FRIENDS SCHOOL!!!


Posted June 7, 2012

This school is amazing on every level. From the head of school to the staff, students and families. Our community is tight-knit and focused on helping students thrive emotionally, spiritually, educationally and physically. Individual care is given to each student and we strive to build strong lasting relationships. Many former students return to serve in multiple capacities. They do this voluntarily because they love the school. Our athletics program has produced League Champions in Volleyball and Basketball and we offer Flag Football, Soccer, and Cross Country as well. In addition to great athletics, we have mini-electives ranging from digital photography to rock climbing. There are options for every interest. Our school also has state of the art facilities with a new expansion coming soon. We have SmartBoards in our classrooms 3rd-8th grade and the media center. We have a beautiful and spacious gymnasium with a fullcourt basketball/vollyball court and a rock climbing wall. Our computerlab is equipped with Dell computers loaded with Microsoft Office and Adobe Photoshop CS5. The parents call this school High Point's "best kept secret!"
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2012

I have been at High Point Friends all my life and I am graduating this year as an eighth grader. I have been to no other school. I have built so many great relationships with other classmates as well as teachers and the faculty. I feel as if I am a part of a family here. It is such a caring envirnoment to learn in. I have become more responsible and caring through my experience at High Point Friends School.


Posted May 17, 2012

I am an 8th grader attending HPFS. I have been a part of this school for the past nine years, and every year I have felt like I have been welcomed by the students and the staff. I would say that this school is the best choice for me and is a great place for someone who would like to shine brighter then ever before. During my time here I have been enriched with a positive attitude and have learned the basic quaker principles. This school definitely lives up to its motto(a classic education in a caring community). Thank you HPFS!


Posted May 15, 2012

This is a very positive, calm, and spiritual environment for a young child. Our child is doing very well in the elementary school. She is happy and does not like to "miss" school. The small class sizes are a big plus and the "hands on learning" really does make a difference. We really like the moderate approach to spirituality that the school takes... I was not sure when we started the school how that would work & after being there for a year I can say that I am so happy with it. The leadership is wonderful and everyone makes us feel part of a family. I am so glad we chose to send our child here. If you are considering a place that will constantly challenge your child, yet help them in areas where they struggle then this is the place to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Our son has been attending HPFS since kindergarten and he is ready to graduate from the eighth grade. This school has been through some turbulent times, but the principal and the teachers have righted this ship and she is sailing swiftly. HPFS has lived out the core values of the Quaker tradition and while some of the people in the community are a tad more conservative than we are theologically, (we lean to the left) the community is strong and sure and overcomes any misgivings we might have had on that front. The teachers and administrators are extremely dedicated and kind. They go WAY beyond the call of duty and they have worked in such an intentional to help my son make his transition to High School. They know our son and love him. They are encouraging both on the field and court and in the classroom. We will greatly miss these friends who truly live out the meaning of friendship. Bravo HPFS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

We have two children at High Point Friends Middle School and they could not be happier (and so are we). The teachers are highly competent, caring, and engaged, the classrooms are small and well appointed (including technology), the school itself is beautiful, and administration is completely student/kid-centered. They provide an academically sound, holistic experience for the students, emphasizing academic achievement, inclusion, diversity, community, and mutual respect. They run a viable athletics program and create several other fun and rewarding extracurricular activities for the children throughout the year. Our girls love this school - we just wish it went through high school. And the price for this top-notch private education? Incredibly reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

Absolutely love this school. We've experienced the PreSchool and the Lower School so far, and it's hands down worth every penny (and a million more). The teachers and staff are completely caring, dedicated and attentive - and really work with each child on their own level and adapt to each child's needs. I am amazed at how much my children (two polar opposites in personality and academically) have both flourished in the school. The academics are exceptional. Also the overall sense of community at the school - in it's staff, teachers, students and familes - are just as exceptional. There exists a depth of caring, responsibility and kindness that I don't think you see in most other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

As a former parent of a child in High Point Friends, I feel that the school needs to develop tolerance. I feel like they are a bit rigid and there is no room for a child that is exceptional. New Garden Friends is much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

My son is in 8th grade and this is his fifth year at HPFS. The school gives a wonderful christian education. The classes are small and the teachers are great and truly care about every child. Our current director has been at HPFS for several years now and strives for excellence in academics and athletics. The coursework is challenging and the kids can participate in several sports throughout the year. We've got a great Parent-Teacher group and lots of activities throughout the year that promote friendships between the school's families. We call HPFS High Point's best-kept secret!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This school continues to position itself as an institution that cultivates confidence, a sense of community, and depth of character in its students. I have watched this school develop over the past 12 years from a preschool and kindergarten into a Lower and Middle School with bright students and a caring group of people. The strength of this school is in the established Friends Meeting that hosts the school on its grounds and the support it gets from parents, faculty, and members of the community.


Posted May 4, 2010

The teachers are kind and very generous with their time. Each student is treated fairly and respectfully. The education is well-rounded and includes not only academic subjects but social responsibility topics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

It's losing all of its good teachers..the foundation is flying out from under it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 53%
Black 3% 32%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • David Girardi
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Friends
Fax number
  • (336) 886-7420

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Quaker education model
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Digital Photography
  • RC Cars
  • Recycling club
  • Rock Climbing Club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Westchester Country Day School
Bishop McGuiness High School
New Garden Friends School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800-A Quaker Lane
High Point, NC 27262
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 886-5516

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ferndale Middle School
High Point, NC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT