Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montlieu Avenue Elementary 4

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
Nice school , they on the way of good improvement. but it will take everyone to be part of it. lets make our child school a better school , first change needs to come from home education.

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the few public schools that has low teacher/ student ratio. This means that each student get more attention from the teacher. The principle just won the Principle of The Year Award 2013! Mr. O'Donnell not only has great leadership but also he truly cares about the well being of the students and teachers. My son really enjoys his friends and teachers everyday. Also, this school is one of the few that is a magnet school and also a IPAD appointed school.


Montlieu Avenue Elementary 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
I was excited to send my son to Montlieu Academy of Technology because in today's world the infusion of real world application and technology is what's needed to prepare our children for now and the future. the principals vision for this school goes above and beyond and the pride that he has is infectious among the teachers, staff, students and parents.The changes that this school has made are amazing and they continue to impress and excel. They are a signature,,Apple distinguished, PBIS Exemplar school and theres not a day my son isnt excited about learning on his personal in school iPad.I was impressed with the how they recognize their student excellence and even included the autistic student... I personally visited their class room and excited to how well adjusted ' behaved and tuned in they were. Watching my son navigate his iPad and teach me things that I have nt discover yet. Thats why I'm extremely proud that he chose to attend Montlieu Academy.. Here's to 3 more years POWER UP!!!!!

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 4

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
I was honestly a little apprehensive at first, due to the prior reputation of the school. But I can say I am glad I send my child here. The Principle and staff really care about these kids. My child has excelled at Montlieu and is genuinely excited about learning. Discipline has not been an issue either.

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 5

Posted March 06, 2008
- a parent
Great school.Director and teachers keep doing that hard work.


Montlieu Avenue Elementary 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
Great school, Great teachers! Our daughter has attended Montlieu for 5 years as an out of district student and has been supremely happy. Her grades are fabulous, she's learning above grade level, she has the opportunity to participate in *many* extracurricular activities - what more could a parent ask for!?! We've watched Montlieu grow and improve and are truly satisfied with where they're at! Keep up the good work! Our only complaint - the students are only there through grade 5! Too bad Montlieu wouldn't go the way of Johnson Street and keep the kids through middle school!

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 1

Posted January 30, 2005
- a parent
I don't feel like Montlieu is up to standard, the school system needs to come in and do something about the faculty. my daughter is in kindergarten there and she is not learning what she should be, I teach her more at home. I have friends with children in the same grade at other schools and there children are more advanced and getting more from school. I do not like montlieu and I don't appreciate the lack of response from the school board, especially when I tried to get information about my daughter going to another school. Montlieu gets a F minus in my opinion.

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 5

Posted January 02, 2005
- a parent
My son began Montlieu in the second grade. He is now in the fourth grade. His experiences at Montlieu have been phenomenal! He began Montlieu feeling bad about school. The principal sat with me and listened to my concerns and worries. She matched him with a teacher that literally saved my child. He is now a leader and an advanced learner who loves to go to school. His younger brother begged to go to the magnet school also, and his reading abiltities have soared since attending Montlieu. Montlieu is the best kept secret of Guilford County. Hats off to you and thanks for all you have done. Angela Hauser, principal, Sharon Rothenberg and Brandon Cash, teachers, have done everything to make my children be challenged and love himself and school. Thanks for everything.


Montlieu Avenue Elementary 2

Posted December 30, 2004
- a parent
My son is currently enrolled at Montlieu Elementary. This is his kindergarden year I have not been pleased with the leadership ablity it is very poor. Most of the staff act as if it they don't want to be there and don't care my son has ADHD this school has no clue on how to handle anything. Next year my kid will not attend Montlieu if I have anything to do with it I will home school him before I will put him at this school agian.

Montlieu Avenue Elementary 1

Posted September 22, 2004
- a parent
Our experience at this school was not good at all. We ended up transferring. Most teachers have less than 5 years experience.

Nearby schools

Montlieu Avenue Elementary
1105 Montlieu Ave, High Point, NC  27262
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (336) 819-2910
Last modified Montlieu Avenue Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top