Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montlieu Elementary Academy Of Technology

Public | PK-5 | 524 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2014

This is one of the few public schools that has low teacher/ student ratio. This means that each student get more attention from the teacher. The principle just won the Principle of The Year Award 2013! Mr. O'Donnell not only has great leadership but also he truly cares about the well being of the students and teachers. My son really enjoys his friends and teachers everyday. Also, this school is one of the few that is a magnet school and also a IPAD appointed school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2012

I was excited to send my son to Montlieu Academy of Technology because in today's world the infusion of real world application and technology is what's needed to prepare our children for now and the future. the principals vision for this school goes above and beyond and the pride that he has is infectious among the teachers, staff, students and parents.The changes that this school has made are amazing and they continue to impress and excel. They are a signature,,Apple distinguished, PBIS Exemplar school and theres not a day my son isnt excited about learning on his personal in school iPad.I was impressed with the how they recognize their student excellence and even included the autistic student... I personally visited their class room and excited to how well adjusted ' behaved and tuned in they were. Watching my son navigate his iPad and teach me things that I have nt discover yet. Thats why I'm extremely proud that he chose to attend Montlieu Academy.. Here's to 3 more years POWER UP!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

I was honestly a little apprehensive at first, due to the prior reputation of the school. But I can say I am glad I send my child here. The Principle and staff really care about these kids. My child has excelled at Montlieu and is genuinely excited about learning. Discipline has not been an issue either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Great school.Director and teachers keep doing that hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Great school, Great teachers! Our daughter has attended Montlieu for 5 years as an out of district student and has been supremely happy. Her grades are fabulous, she's learning above grade level, she has the opportunity to participate in *many* extracurricular activities - what more could a parent ask for!?! We've watched Montlieu grow and improve and are truly satisfied with where they're at! Keep up the good work! Our only complaint - the students are only there through grade 5! Too bad Montlieu wouldn't go the way of Johnson Street and keep the kids through middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

I don't feel like Montlieu is up to standard, the school system needs to come in and do something about the faculty. my daughter is in kindergarten there and she is not learning what she should be, I teach her more at home. I have friends with children in the same grade at other schools and there children are more advanced and getting more from school. I do not like montlieu and I don't appreciate the lack of response from the school board, especially when I tried to get information about my daughter going to another school. Montlieu gets a F minus in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

My son began Montlieu in the second grade. He is now in the fourth grade. His experiences at Montlieu have been phenomenal! He began Montlieu feeling bad about school. The principal sat with me and listened to my concerns and worries. She matched him with a teacher that literally saved my child. He is now a leader and an advanced learner who loves to go to school. His younger brother begged to go to the magnet school also, and his reading abiltities have soared since attending Montlieu. Montlieu is the best kept secret of Guilford County. Hats off to you and thanks for all you have done. Angela Hauser, principal, Sharon Rothenberg and Brandon Cash, teachers, have done everything to make my children be challenged and love himself and school. Thanks for everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

My son is currently enrolled at Montlieu Elementary. This is his kindergarden year I have not been pleased with the leadership ablity it is very poor. Most of the staff act as if it they don't want to be there and don't care my son has ADHD this school has no clue on how to handle anything. Next year my kid will not attend Montlieu if I have anything to do with it I will home school him before I will put him at this school agian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

Our experience at this school was not good at all. We ended up transferring. Most teachers have less than 5 years experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female44%
Male49%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students36%
Female31%
Male42%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically gifted77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students26%
Female29%
Male23%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically gifted86%

Reading

All Students14%
Female21%
Male8%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students16%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%
Academically gifted50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female37%
Male38%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically gifted76%

Reading

All Students23%
Female21%
Male24%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students23%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%
Academically gifted43%

Science

All Students27%
Female21%
Male32%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Academically gifted52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 26%
Hispanic 13% 14%
Asian 6% 3%
White 6% 52%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 100%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Gerald O'Donnell
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 819-2915

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1105 Montlieu Avenue
High Point, NC 27262
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 819-2910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT