Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 715 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2012

This review is towards the woman who said not to send you SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD HERE!!! I had my daughter here in Kindergarten and first grade she was a special needs little girl with her speech REALLY hard to understand. I wasn't impressed with her Kindergarten teacher because of her lack of knowing what happened in the classroom as there was one bully inside the class but I chose to step up and demand better for my daughter and you know I got it.. but instead of being a parent that only complained I decided to get involved really got to know the principal and fell in love with her and her staff! There will always be good teachers, bad teachers and GREAT teachers.. In first grade she went back and I got more involved and she had the best TEACHER who really made my daughter feel like she shined and the kids in her class were so wonderful and polite. I for one would send my special needs child here any day or any year with this staff.. but you as a parent need to step up and be your child's advocate not just switch their schools ... but as for my child if we still lived in NC I would send her to SWE over any other school including private or charter in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

SWE is a very structured and academic driven school. I do believe in focusing on academics but to the point where you have a couple children so scared to take the EOG's that they are throwing up in fear. My child had a okay teacher for first and a not so good one for first. I have volunteered and have been involved in the school and the classroom I from what I have noticed I agree with a lot of the other comments pertaining to "military school", "high turn over", teachers not being creative" and the principal as well as the teachers "No because I said so". This school could use a new administration for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

I would like to say that we have had another Awesome year at SWES. My son just finished 3rd grade in Mrs. Day's class. She is a wonderful teacher...dedicated to learning. I volunteered in the class once a week & could see how much these kids wanted to learn from her. She makes school fun! We were very concerned about 3rd grade & EOGs. Our son was given all the support needed to excell. I highly recommend Southwest to any new comer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

My child transferred to Southwest from a local Charter School. The teachers she has had have been dedicated, involved and on a much higher level than the previous school. I am very pleased with Southwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Well do not take your handicap or special needs child there, I at first thought he would do good there, but with a 27 kids head count in class and lack of them wantign to get more help for him, Within our 1st week I felt he was outsted out at the end like the teachers wanted no part of him. My son was tranferred to a better school .......send them to Colfax. I still 1 kid there at Southwest we'll see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

My family is very blessed to be at Southwest Elementary. We moved here last year from out of state. My son was in first grade with Mrs. Schlanger. We too, were surprised when he was classified as a nonreader. I would just like to say that this teacher goes the extra mile for every student. My son left first grade able to read any book. I am so thankful to the principal for listening to our needs and most of all to his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

We transferred our 4th grade son from a local Magnet school where the teaching and especially the principal were seriously incompetant. Southwest has been a blessing!! Principal Susan Allen welcomed us with warmth and compassion, spoke to us extensively about our child's needs, and placed him in the perfect classroom, Ms. Pearson's 4th grade class. The transition was flawless as Ms. Pearson welcomed him into her close-knit class and went beyond the call of duty to personally get him on track scholastically!! We have found the teaching standards to be high--experience counts!!! The students are orderly and respectful--learning while still having fun and being kids!!! We could not ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I am not able to rate this school in many of the areas listed, since I am not familiar with some of the categories. As the grandparent of a child in the first grade at Southwest last year, however, I would particularly like to recognize his teacher, Ms. Reich. I volunteered in her class and had many opportunities to observe her teaching style. She was the type of teacher I wish every child could have - firm but caring, high teaching standards with creative teaching style, making every effort to meet the individual needs of each child. Southwest is luckly to have her.


Posted October 2, 2007

While this school has had unusually high teacher turnover in recent years it is by far the best elementary school in the city and one of the best in the coounty. We have two children there now and 5 years ago had another. I find the leadership to be very efficient and well-liked. Most of the parents have no idea how lucky they are to have their children in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I feel like my kids are very safe in this school, but I don't feel like it is the best learning environment. My children have only been in the school for one year, but I've spent many volunteer hours in the classroom, so I have a pretty good feel for the environment. It seems like there is more time spent on controlling the kids & keeping them quiet & safe, then making sure they have a healthy, interesting environment to nurture the love for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2006

I just recently found this website and read over the previous comments from other parents. I definitely agree with the negative remarks about the administration. Having volunteered in my children's classrooms and had frequent interactions with the administration, the teachers are very restricted in their teacher styles and creativity. They are micromanaged as if they were completely incompetent. It is all about test performance and not on providing a well balanced education. The teachers are forced to run their classrooms exactly alike despite the varying needs of each class. Most of the teachers and the families of SWE are wonderful, caring and focused on what's best for the students. I new administration would make SWE one of the best schools in Guilford County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

Most of the teachers I have dealt with do not seem to be caring or that well trained in regards to dealing with a child that has ADHD. There are not very many extracurricular activites and the meals are so-so. Principal leadership is on the 'my way' policy and I think that sometimes they go way overboard. Overall the quality of the school is ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

'Military School' is a bit of an exaggeration, don't you think? I would agree that the principal runs a very orderly and disciplined school but I don't see that as a negative. Behavior issues seem to be dealt with in a fair, consistent manner. I also disagree that parents don't have input. The PTA is one of the most active I've ever experienced. I'm sorry you have not had a positive experience and would encourage you to take advantage of the volunteer opportunities that present themselves throughout the year. Things often seem a certain way from the outside (especially if you are going strictly on information from your children) but are quite different in reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

I think that the previous two reviews have been very gracious. Southwest definately has it's problems, the biggest being high teacher turn-over and lack of creativity in the curriculum. The principal leadership style is 'We're doing it this way because I said so' with no input from parents or teachers. If you like military school, you'll be very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

We have been extremely please with SWES. The school is led by an outstanding principal and the teachers are top-notch. The school has a very involved PTA which helps to enhance the schools curriculum with a great deal of extras the school board of the county does not provide. If you choose this school and become involved I think you will find that it will be a wonderful school choice and experience for the family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

Overall, my daughter has been very happy at Southwest Elementary. I do wish that they had extracurricular activities that some of the other elementary schools have, such as Daisy Scouts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black55%
Asian88%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled students84%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male72%
Black64%
Asian82%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male65%
Black60%
Asian78%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students54%
Female56%
Male53%
Black33%
Asian72%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female72%
Male81%
Black45%
Asian86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students60%
Female57%
Male64%
Black35%
Asian71%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted88%

Science

All Students76%
Female68%
Male84%
Black55%
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Asian 14% 3%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4372 Southwest School Road
High Point, NC 27265
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 819-2992

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Phoenix Academy Inc
High Point, NC






The Piedmont School
High Point, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT