Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great staff. I am very pleased with the education my children are receiving!

Holly Grove Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Me. Dianna Dell, my son's kindergarten teacher is truly the best of the best. She has taken such an interest in him and his success at school. She has been great with emails and staying in touch to make sure we are both doing what needs to be done to help my son as much as possible. She is an outstanding teacher and I am so grateful the Lord has put her where she is. Thanks!


Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
We love this school. I have two children that go here and the teachers are fabulous. We came here from out of country and were very nervous about how our kids would fit in. We have been here for three years and have never had a problem, it is a very welcoming place.

Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with both our children at Holly Grove Elementary. I am not sure what the prior reviewer was talking about regarding 4's, both of my kids have received 4's on their report cards when deserved. I don't get all up in arms about that kind of thing... it's a number. What I DO get all excited about is how much my children adore their teachers, how fabulous all the events are and how much my children have learned. They are involved in early AIG classes outside of the standard curriculum, their teachers are both so in tune with each of them and what they need at different points of the year. Both kids are thriving and being pushed to excel, and they are happy.

Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My son and daughter both attend HGES. We have only had one bad teacher experience. The other teachers were stars! The school has a loving kind environment. The parent involvement is great but I have noticed that it decreases as the kids age. We have had a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this school.


Holly Grove Elementary 3

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
Don't believe the hype! Teachers are mostly great, but hands are tied with the common core. HGES also has a policy of "We don't assign a grade of "4" unless the student is in the absolute tippy-top percentile". Grading scale is not in line with other schools in the area. Holly Springs schools are just being hyped for the benefit of the large developers who are cashing in on the NY to NC boom in Holly Springs.

Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
We have been very impressed by the caliber of the teachers and the students at Holly Grove. Lots of good families that are invested in their kids and a good quality education provided by the staff!

Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Our family has been a part of Holly Grove Elem. since it began. We've been communicating with this Principal since the school began as well. We have found the Principal to be approachable, knowledgeable, helpful and supportive. We also have enjoyed our teachers and believe our children have received a good education. Any areas we feel like could use improvement are really because of poor Wake County Schools policies, not because of school policies.


Holly Grove Elementary 3

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
I have two student who attend Holly Grove Elementary School and we have been so pleased with the teachers. They are the ones that make a difference and they are so good at it. I have to say that the princiapl there is terrible. She has extremely poor communication skills and simply doesnt make the childs well being her main interest. One review mentioned "She is unwilling to listen to and help parents make the best choices for their children. "-- I agree 110 percent! It is such a shame that so many of us feel this way when the teachers are so great. The admins in the office leave a lot to be desired as well.

Holly Grove Elementary 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Holly Grove as done some much for my child. This is his first year in a year round school and they have helped him with the transition. They are very informative and always understanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holly Grove Elementary
1451 Avent Ferry Road, Holly Springs, NC  27540
(919) 577-1700
Last modified Holly Grove Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holly Grove Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top