Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John M Alexander Middle 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
I have found JMA to be an overall positive experience for my child. The current principal, Ms. Richardson, is quite attentive to the needs of the school. She is very attentive to parent concerns while still weighing out what is best for the overall school. JMA offers many after school activities for students that are both challenging and fun. With the addition of the IB program at JMA the academic opportunities are numerous. Academics appears to be the main forte of the school. The building is old and lends itself to seeming to be overcrowded but in reality it is an average sized middle school. We have found JMA's dance teacher, Ms. Clinard, to be very approachable and great for kids. Parents who have had issues with the school have not given the staff adequate time to deal with their problems in my opinion.

John M Alexander Middle 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a community member
Awful, awful awful. We are taking our son out and putting in a nearby private school. This school is completely out of control, run-down and overall not fit for any child who wants to learn. We are fortunate that we can afford (barely) to send our child elsewhere, and we feel for those of you who are stuck with this school.


John M Alexander Middle 4

Posted May 20, 2013
- a community member
I have been attending this school since 2010 i have seen major improvements in the educational system. Sure its crowded but i hear they may build a need school. Overall its an 4 atar school.

John M Alexander Middle 3

Posted March 21, 2012
- a community member
The school had some problems the year before I cam. I am a formal Davidson IB student. It's no longer overcrowded however I find the mass is punished for the few a common problem. The school is just ok but I think the principal Dr. Karney will help

John M Alexander Middle 2

Posted January 21, 2011
- a community member
i am a student a this school and i believe that this school is old and run-down teachers are way better than the school. i also believe that they should tear it down and build another one. Some people don't know that the year of 2011-2012 Davidson IB will be moving into there so more students=less teachers and less teachers means less supervision so i believe this isn't the best school.


John M Alexander Middle 0
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
I use to go to that school and it is alittle bad every now and then, but it`s alright

John M Alexander Middle 2

Posted February 15, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John M Alexander Middle 1

Posted December 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


John M Alexander Middle 1

Posted July 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

John M Alexander Middle 3

Posted June 20, 2009
- a student
the bathrooms are gross and the school is just real old and run down. i cant wait to go to ridge road middle school i will be in 8th grade. the teachers at JMA are awsome though.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John M Alexander Middle
12201 Hambright Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
(980) 343-3830
Last modified John M Alexander Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John M Alexander Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews.