Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-12
Private
Huntersville, NC
Students enrolled: 903
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southlake Christian Academy 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My children have been at Southlake for two years and we LOVE this school. They have thrived spirtually and academically. The teachers and staff are top notch and take interest in my children, to insure they are taught Gods word and they are successful academically. Southlake is the place for our children and can't wait to see The Lord move through this place. Amazing things to come!

Southlake Christian Academy 2

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
SouthLake may have been a great school at one time, but it has significantly deteriorated last couple years. The current enrollment is now in the 700 range with a continued decline in enrollment. While the teachers do the best they can with resources provided, the school leadership (former HOS and founding pastor embezzled past year) and "school board" (few male elders of church with no educational back grounds) have neither the experience or desire to create a very good/great school. Their priority is on current church membership (150 -200) vs. actual school/parent community which funds the church. This has created a conflict of priorities with school being a much lower priority. If you have a student in primary grades, SouthLake provides a loving, challenging, Christ focused education. The middle school and high school are average. Current and future curriculum is from Bob Jones with e readers being only technology allowed. They have had fantastic sports/fine arts programs but sports is being significantly deemphasized/dismantled. It will be very difficult to keep MS/HS families which seems to be the ultimate goal.


Southlake Christian Academy 1

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Just an awful experience. My child was bullied terribly by other students, and in one instance by a teacher. The school is overtly religious and intolerant of other views. Oh - the dinosaurs didn't become extinct because there was not room on Noah's ark. Honestly, the science teacher taught that to my daughter's 8th grade class. Teaching creationism over evolution is bad enough, but the school's blind adherence to fringe religious doctrine is troubling, especially because there is no room for healthy debate. Finally, and importantly, the textbooks were truly antiquated and recess was held in the parking lot, but the football field was brand new and they built an extra fieldhouse for the basketball program.

Southlake Christian Academy 1

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
SLCA, unfortunately has been a great disappointment. Recruiting athletes is never a good way to run a school...

Southlake Christian Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
SLCA is a wonderful school full of motivated teachers, staff and administrators. Both of our children graduated and received academic scolarships. One graduated from Furman and is now in a full paid PHD program at USC, Columbia, a great tribute to the learning and personal development. Class size was never an issue as there are adequate teachers and aids.


Southlake Christian Academy 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Class size is same or more than public school tuition increased and service declined. Teachers lost benefits this year admin blames Affordable healthcare act - teachers not engaged this year due to all the changes. If your child is in sports - school cares and even pays tuition for the athletes. Nepotism is rampant at the school. Older children who "mentor" the younger ones use vulgar language and when it is reported nothing happens the parent is told that is was an isolated incident. I have upper school children and do not see any benefit to this school over public this year. The principals almost use a script when you want to discuss the school. It is sad that what use to be a good school had turned into a school striving to be great at sports and so so on academics.

Southlake Christian Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
SLCA is an absolute wonderful school. We have recently move from London and have found this school better from our previous English private schools

Southlake Christian Academy 2

Posted June 09, 2013
- a community member
I go to Southlake Christian Academy. I have attended Southlake for twelve years. The administration is not helpful. When you hire a teacher, is it too much to ask for you too hire a qualified teacher? Also, this is a school that is suppossed to be college prepatory and instead our administration worries about who they will recruit for football next so that they can achieve their beloved state championship. Don't get me wrong, I love football but there is a certain extent a school should go to develop their team. Southlake seems oblivious to the angry parents. Parents come to the front office every other day, but nothing they say will changes anything. If all these people continue to leave the school you will have no money because the only thing the school does is bring in athletes who can't pay tuition. Now people might ask me have I tried eveything to improve the school and I can say I have. I literally live at this school. I am involved with fall and winter sports, beta club, and the play. Parents have come up to me and said, "Wow! Thank you for being everywhere you can be to help out the school." Honestly, I would love to tell people to come here, but I simply can not do that.


Southlake Christian Academy 3

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
This school is an outreach school, not a covenant school. The teachers are above average. The admin is average. The students are below average in effort and passion. The parents are busy working or looking for work. The middle school classrooms are the brightest, happiest I've seen. The upper school kids are not sheltered. I don't know why there is a comment about that. Weird. Maybe a bit sheltered from the reality of excellence in academics in other parts of the country and world. The students need to take their studies more seriously. Some do. It is possible to go on to a great college and rank in the top 10%. That happened this year to a friend's kid. But it really is up to the student. There is little hand holding and creative guidance. If you want to go the AP route, do it. No one will force you to or even encourage you. You need to know what universities have as their minimum requirements now. If you wait until junior year, it will be too late. This school is like a clean 3 star hotel. No frills. It is not a 5 star service oriented school. You will need to take care of some things as a family and not rely on the school.

Southlake Christian Academy 1

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
The biggest problem with this school is that they shelter students from the real world. The teaching staff is way below average. The classes seem to be fresh out of college and just boss the kids around and quiz them on things they never went over. I guess you can say its has Christian but they are too focused on "trying" to make the school challenging. All the students who graduate never truly want to return here. This school is so focused on its athletics. They say the kids are mature enough, but they won't teach about the experiences they will encounter in college and life. The schedule is the worst schedule in Lake Norman. Seven classes a day is way to overwhelming for the students, especially when the teachers assign quizzes and tests all on the same days. If you want your kid to have a better middle and high school career, send them to a public school. The education is better. And FREE. $12000 a year is too much for below average teaching. If you are concerned about the lack of Christian values in a pubic school, make sure they are involved in FCA. I was very disappointed in this school. This is the brutal truth. Do not send students here. It is not worth the overpriced cost.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southlake Christian Academy
13901 Hagers Ferry Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
(704) 949-2200
Last modified Southlake Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Southlake Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top