Advertisement

St. Mark Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntersville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2012

I currently have a very happy 4th grader here. My older daughter attended St. Mark since the day it first opened its doors, as a kindergardener, and last year graduated from 8th grade. I cannot imagine a more amazing place for her to have been educated, both academically and spiritually. The principal is outstanding, and knows every child and parent that walks through those doors. The teachers are excellent. The academics are rigorous without being overwhelming, and my children have had the added advantage of being able to live their faith in a supportive and caring environment. My eldest loved going to school every day. We chose for her to attend the local public high school this year as a freshman, and I am so pleased with how well St. Mark prepared her academically. In fact, she is ahead of the curve, having already obtained several of the core requirements while still in middle school at St. Mark. Overall, St. Mark is the total package. There is a very active PTO, a great athletic program, terrific teachers who truly care, and a wonderful school community of parents and kids who love this school! I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

WONDERFUL! We are so fortunate to have been accepted. My daughter went to a local Christian school and was so far behind the other kids, I knew I had to do something for her. After a few weeks we realized how far behind she was and the learning resources department organized a meeting with Administration, guidance, her, both of us and her teacher. Together we worked for her education and to bring her up to her peers....it was a difficult year with some tears but now that it is over--she is a strong student with amazing study skills. She likes the bigger class and is learning important social skills. Before she had 2 friends- thats all she had in her class that were not teachers children. Now she has alot!! I am so thankful for St. Marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

Amazing school. Wonderul administration, parent support and academic programs. Our son is so far ahead of others in his grade and yet they don't dump a ton of homework on the kids. Very efficient teachers who get so much accomplished with our children each day. Our kids LOVE to go to school. We wouldn't go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Prepares students very well for high school. Wonderful school family that shows great support for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

This has been a fantastic school for my children for the past 5 years. They are way ahead of the national averages for children their ages due to the excellent teachers, facilities, and administration. It has a family-like atmosphere, and great athletic opportunities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Fantastic school! My daughter, a fourth grader, aside from a straight A student enjoy every moment at St. Mark with all the extra-curricular activities such as basketball, soccer, Girl Scout, band and church choir. Teachers and staff are very nice, caring and thoughtful. The only thing that we can complain about (but in a good way) is...there's too much homework so we have to get involved as well. On the other hand, it is good for her because she seems to be ahead of other children her age who go to other school. Most importantly, we feel safe for her all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Awesome school. Structured yet caring environment. My child is thriving both academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

My children love it . It has high standards and is very structured .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

This is a great school. Great teachers, great athletic teams, great students. I love it!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 53%
Hispanic 5% 11%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charlotte
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14750 Stumptown Rd
Huntersville, NC 28078
Phone: (704) 766-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Mark Catholic School
Huntersville, NC


Grand Oak Elementary
Huntersville, NC




Torrence Creek Elementary
Huntersville, NC


Huntersville Elementary
Huntersville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT