Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12 & Ungraded|Private
90 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
We love the learning style of hands on Montessori! Our son is absolutely thrilled to go to school each day-- and doesn't want to leave hen I come to pick him up. Field trips, overnight excursions and weeklong trips to an estuary camp and in older grades, to a nature camp and to Washington, DC-- what more can kids ask for? They go hiking, to The Cherokee Nation in the mountains and to the beach-- all while learning math, science, language and social studies. There is collaboration among the students to accomplish whatever projects they given, truly team efforts. Montessori prepares students for real-life situations and the students eagerly take on their tasks. This school and it's teachers are wonderful!

Phoenix Montessori Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The Montessori method of teaching encourages students to take personal responsibility for themselves and their environment.


Phoenix Montessori Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
There is generally no homework assigned, so no struggles to get hours of busy work completed at the expense of family time.

Phoenix Montessori Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
India Adams is a true leader and visionary for Phoenix Montessori Academy. She is a trusted Montessori educator for teacher education as well as a wonderful Upper Elementary lead teacher at Phoenix. She embodies the spirit of the Montessori philosophy and teaching method.

Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the area a year and go and were so sad to leave behind my daughter's previous daycare facility. We visited over a dozen preschools/nurseries in the summer of 2013 and were feeling quite dejected by what was out there--"five star" facilities with one star feel (crowded rooms, disengaged teachers, unstructured play all day, etc). Then we found PMA and were so relieved that they accepted children at 18 months. Teachers are loving, give individualized attention and have actually helped me to be a more patient parent who truly embraces positive reinforcement. I love that middle schoolers know my daughter and greet her in the morning. PMA is a school and a family. My daughter doesn't want to leave at the end of the day. She's just two now and knows her colors beyond primary colors, diverse animals, can count and add, dress herself and her vocabulary is growing by the day. I really really love this school and all the wonderful work being done there. I've never see children so excited to come to school and learn. I'm so glad we found PMA. We'll be there for years to come as I have had a wonderful opportunity to meet teachers from various classrooms and remain impressed.


Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school providing hands-on learning, research based teaching and a proven learning method-- Montessori at its best. There are two teachers in each classroom, small class size and enthusiasm everywhere. With its wonderful Davidson location, we could not be more pleased. We have had our children at Phoenix for three years now. All of the teachers know them because Montessori provides for three year cycles. There is no staff turnover in the elementary, middle and high schools, so the students are very secure in their environments. What a pleasure for all of the Phoenix families to be part of this learning community!

Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
My son has been at PMA for six years. The best part is how my son has learned personal responsibility, something quite lacking today. I used to have to drag him to his homework. Now he sits down and does his homework first. Kids are able to learn the way that they learn best. It is a warm inviting school with the ability for a child to be an individual. Moving to the new campus has been a great thing. Along with regular class activities there is an emphasis on community and giving back. People can learn great things come in small packages. The tuition for the small classes is very affordable. We love the school

Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
My two children could not be more different from one another and yet both have thrived in PMA's environment. They are happy, confident children with a firmer grasp of academic concepts than I have seen in their traditional school friends. More importantly, they have an awareness of their responsibilities to their community, the Earth and their fellow citizens. While no situation is ever perfect, I am proud to have been a part of the Phoenix Family for many years. It has been a huge investment, but one I intend to continue to make.


Phoenix Montessori Academy 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
This school was a complete waste of time and money. The children are not challenged and parents are not welcome. Administration was mainly concerned about the contractual agreement regarding payment. Teenagers are asleep on couches and while pretending to be on their laptops. We were only there a short time, thankfully! NOT a real Montessori school.

Phoenix Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Phoenix Montessori is a great school! They offer affordable classes for all ages and truly care about not only your child, but your family. This school has been home to all three of my children. The staff and curriculum developed a love of learning in my children and helped to cultivate their natural curiosity. I highly recommend this school to every family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phoenix Montessori Academy
12340 Mt. Holly-Huntersville Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (704) 892-7536
Last modified Phoenix Montessori Academy is a Private school
Top