Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barnette Elementary 5

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
My biggest fear was that my daughter would get bored. This has never been a concern! The "blocks" for reading and math keep her challenged and engaged with students at her level. The teachers are very easy to communicate with, they are "on it" with the use of technology - integrated but not a distraction. The PTA is very active and FANTASTIC. We couldn't have done any better with a private/charter school. We LOVE Barnette!

Barnette Elementary
Grateful to: Parent

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
The PTA is very involved with fundraisers and is a key ingredient to making this school such a great place to be!


Barnette Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
The teachers make good use of traditional paper as well as online homework assignments. There's typically 30 minutes or so per evening (so far!).

Barnette Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a parent
They have a "Character" program where they recognize and reward admirable student behavior. Students who exhibit good Character get a T-Shirt and it's announced during morning announcements to the whole school!

Barnette Elementary 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
We love Barnette! I can't imagine a better school for our kids or this community. The administration is caring and thoughtful in their decisions regarding the school and students. The teachers are amazing and do a great job teaching students on every level. The Cambridge Program is a great addition to the school and feeder schools. Barnette PTA goes above and beyond for our students and staff. We consider ourselves fortunate to be apart of the Barnette community!


Barnette Elementary 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a community member
We love Barnette! The teachers are great at communicating what is happening and our PTO is top notch. The flex program has been huge for my kid. The ability to move around and learn from different teachers is great. It is close to home, it is clean and all the staff are friendly and accommodating. More folks in our community should give our public schools the opportunity to shine and stop going to charter schools that are pulling funding from our public schools. Be an involved parent and the school will be what you want it to be. We highly recommend Barnette!

Barnette Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Each of my son's teachers have given at least 110%, they truly care for each student!

Barnette Elementary 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
We love Barnette! It has it all amazing teachers plus a outstanding PTA, you couldn't ask for a better elementary school!!!


Barnette Elementary 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
I currently have 1 child attending Barnette (4th Grades). We have had a fabulous experience at the school. GREAT teachers, amazing staff and hands-on parents. 5 Stars all the way! Keep up the great work Barnette!

Barnette Elementary 5

Posted May 30, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 kids that attend Barnette and they truly love it. I believe some of the previous negative comments and reviews reflect the old administration. The teachers seems fully supported by the PTA and the new principal. As a result, teacher retention has been over 90% for the past few years. We had the chance to send our kids to a charter and I am very thankful we stayed at Barnette. It is a great fit.

Nearby schools

Barnette Elementary
13659 Beatties Ford Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
(980) 343-0372
Last modified Barnette Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top