Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sun Valley Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
SVMS is one of the best middle school in Union County. The administration staff does a wonderful job attending to their students. Any concerns and inquires are addressed with a sense of urgency. A great school to be a part of.

Sun Valley Middle School 1

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
There is a very serious issue in the school bullying also racial bullying. Staff needs to figure something out.


Sun Valley Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
Dr. Merritt has been fantastic. She is not a paper administrator. She leads this school and I have been very impressed with her abilities.

Sun Valley Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
Sun Valley staff doesn't just "teach" values, they live them and expect them. Dr. Merritt cares, the staff cares, and the teachers care. The kids can see this and it carries over into everything.

Sun Valley Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
SVMS does not let the kids get away with excuses. The children are held accountable for their work.


Sun Valley Middle School 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
SVMS is a fantastic school. Dr. Merritt and her staff are very energetic and have always been helpful. The teachers are engaged and both of my children have had great experiences.

Sun Valley Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
A pleasant surprise after hearing negative reviews. There is a security system in place and yes, you do need to be buzzed in to enter the school. The building is old but with the spotlight on them, Union County Public Schools was forced to update and maintain the facilities as they should. Any issues with the system in place today is the fault of the Board of Education who cares very little about students or families.

Sun Valley Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
My boys love SVMS. I think the teaching staff is supportive and well rounded. They are flexible with the students but tough when needed. They communicate well with the parents and welcome input. They are easy to talk to and approachable. My boys enjoy middle school and have adjusted well. Whenever there is a problem it is dealt with immediately. The parents are very involved and helpful within the community. I love the administration they are the main reason why the school is successful. Despite the things you may hear about this school I am so grateful that my boys are learning and they are happy.


Sun Valley Middle School 2

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
My child was redistricted from Weddington Middle School. It is a story of the 'haves' and 'have nots'. Weddington - new school, well maintained, clean, nice facilities. Sun Valley - Neglected, dark, gloomy, dilapidated. Proper maintenance and upgrades can make an 'old' school look nice. This school is clearly neglected. Walk right in, no locking front doors/no buzzer to get in...walk around! Is the security of the 'have nots' not as important as the 'haves'? It is a shame for Union County to have such differences in schools and funding. Go to google maps for an aerial view. Compare the roof to surrounding buildings. We are looking into alternatives. Our kids deserve better.

Sun Valley Middle School 3

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
Academically my son did well and we had no problems. The teachers were all very nice. The issue I have is at this age range theres need to be a lot of communication between the school and the parents. If there is a trend that is alarming among the student body I feel the school has the responsibility to inform the parents. I approached the school about a cutting situation that I knew several students were involved in. They told me they were aware but not much they could do. This is an issue that should have been alerted to the parents. I never heard of this as a teenager and never would have thought. It is an issue that is not being addressed.

Nearby schools

Sun Valley Middle School
1409 Wesley Chapel Rd, Indian Trail, NC  28079
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (704) 296-3009
Last modified Sun Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top