Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Porter Ridge Middle School 2

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
There is a significant problem with bullying that seems to be ignored by the administration. This is even to the point of when we have told our child's doctor about the bullying problem (as it has caused emotional issues with our child) that they expressed that they have seen a significant number of kids from this school reporting bullying problems. If your child is one of the "cool" kids then they will have no problem, but if your child is a little bit different than it is a different story. For clarification, my child scored in the 99% and 92% in reading and math EOG, so she is very smart and capable of the academic work and is in the AIG program. In addition, the school is very overcrowded (that is not their fault though) and it does impact the learning conditions. Halls are extremely crowded and between classes is when the bullying seems to occur mostly when admin and teachers can't monitor sufficiently.

Porter Ridge Middle School 1

Posted November 02, 2013
- a community member
Porter Ridge Middle School is a harsh environment to learn in. I have heard several complaints by students and parents. Teachers are harsh and treat some kids like dirt, and some are too gentle, and are showing that it is okay to act foolish. The school is also dirty, crowded, and unsafe. Outdoor trailers, unlocked doors, profanity on the bathroom walls in both girl and boy bathrooms. Snakes and cockroaches have been found there, and there is a very unsanitary cafeteria In the cafeteria, there are wasps, flies, crumbs, and it is always loud. The school has one security guard, and the amount of homework is ridiculous.
1 person found this helpful


Porter Ridge Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
First weeks at PRMS have been stressful for my child and me. No school or county website for over a week, no locker for 2 weeks, and the amount of homework. But as we get into the grove of things, life is getting easier. My child's homework tells me he's covering a lot of material during the day which I hope will help expand his realm of knowledge.

Porter Ridge Middle School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
My child attended Porter Ridge Middle for 3 years. She survived middle school and was prepared for high school. While I didn't always agree with the administration or the teachers direction, I am grateful that my child learned a variety of things. I only had a few issues with bullying and hours of homework. Once I met with the assistant principals, action was eventually taken. The school is way overcrowded. Unfortunately with all the budget cuts, I don't think a new middle school or high school will be built in the near future.

Porter Ridge Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Please do not look at the rating that this school has and think that it is a good school. Porter Ridge has been a nightmare for my child the past two years. Some of the teachers have no business teaching and when a complaint is made about the teaching and the verbal abuse administered by these teachers the administration does nothing about it. There is definitely a bullying problem in this school. The bullying is not only done by other students but by teachers as well. If you ask to have your child removed from a class don't expect it to happen. They will find every excuse to not move them and regardless of the situation, will always side with thte teacher. My child was attacked and injured by another student and was not allowed to see a nurse. I was also not informed of the injury by the administration.There are teachers that scream in students' faces like a drill sergeant and when a complaint is made nothing is done about it. My child was told by one teacher that she/he will amount to nothing. The school is also unsafe. There is an overcrowding problem and classes are taught in trailers outside of the school. The back doors of the school are kept unlocked and unmonitored all day
1 person found this helpful


Porter Ridge Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a community member
I going to PRMS next year.From the field trip I went to it looks like a cool school.They have AIG classes for me too. The teachers all look really nice. They also have tons of clubs like art club.They also have band.I know I'm going to have a great year!!!

Porter Ridge Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 31, 2009
- a student
i just moved here to nc and prms has been so helpful it is a great envoirment to learn.

Porter Ridge Middle School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
This year Porter Ridge has made major improvements starting with Open House. The teachers were enthusiastic and excited to teach and the Open House itself was organized. My son is in the 7th grade and he has had only good things to say. I am looking forward to a great year at Porter Ridge.


Porter Ridge Middle School 1

Posted August 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Porter Ridge Middle School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Porter Ridge Middle School
2827 Ridge Road, Indian Trail, NC  28079
(704) 225-7555
Last modified Porter Ridge Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Porter Ridge Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.