Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bell Fork Elementary

Public | K-5 | 528 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

This is really a great school!! My children have done really outstanding at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

My two children both attend this school, one in the 3rd grade and one in kindergarten. The teachers and administration have been wonderful here. They are very understanding of the military family culture and work to help children succeed. I have a child with special needs, and the Assistant Principal and the IEP team worked very hard to ensure all the accommodations he needed were in place. I have always been able to contact the teachers/administration and gotten quick responses. The school hosts literacy nights that encourage family reading. The only downside to this school is that the pickup procedure happens inside the building, (which is safer actually) which means you have to park, walk in and sign your child out vice just pulling up. This is a small price to pay for an otherwise excellent school. The teachers are just very caring about what they do. I've never not been in the "know" as a parent. The principal ensures the latest technology is utilized and makes whatever resources are out there available to students who require extra assistance. I'm glad my children attend Bell Fork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

I moved to Jacksonville just over a year ago and sent my kids to Bell Fork Elementary. While there, they were verbally abused daily and physically abused by the bus driver. My boys are not difficult children and I certainly don't overreact as a standard procedure. I have spoken to a number of parents that have taken their kids out of Bell Fork and they all have the same comments. The teachers and staff (granted some are good) are generally abusive. Nearly all of the students at the private school both my boys now attend are previously from Bell Fork. The market here hardly supports private school tuition and it should be an important marker of the school that both the private school and Bell Fork are within walking distance of each other, yet parents prefer to pay hard earned money in order to avoid the crass administration and the horrible quality of teachers at Bell Fork. Avoid this school at all costs - even in the days of poor NC public school education, this school is certainly leading the way to inevitable litigation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Great school both of my children attended this school for 2 years! Ms Sunday and Mrs Simma are great teachers! The principle is very involved with the students!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2010

My son has almost completed his first year at Bell Fork Elementary and he is doing wonderful. His teacher is kind and conciderate of military families and the concerns that accompany parents deploying often. She and her aid have wonderful communication between parent child and teacher. My son loves school and is learning and thriving. Because of this possitive experience he cannot wait to start 1st grade. Thank you Bell Fork!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

We just moved to Jacksonville in the middle of the school year and my daughters 1st grade teacher is great. The staff really cares about their students and everyone is very helpful. I love the atmosphere in this school. Very relaxed but awesome for the children. We are a military family and it was perfect for us, and my child has went to 3 different schools this school year alone. Her teacher is really understanding of that and has helped catch my daughter up on the things she must learn by the end of the school year. I have nothing but good things to say about Bell Fork.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

I have nothing but praise for this school. The teachers that I have personally dealt with have a passion for teaching and learning. I have always seen great compassion for students here as well. We moved across town, and my son had to change elementary schools. We miss Bellfork and the staff there. Although there has been a yearly turn over of assistant principals at BFE, Dr. Williams has remained the principal for years and I believe this greatly helps to keep the continuity of things on an even and upward direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Bell Fork has served my son well for the past 3 school years. However, the front office staff is not very friendly. They always seem to have an attitude when you are trying to ask questions. Other than that, this school has great teachers. Not much involvement individually with the students on the part of the principal though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

When my son attended it was the only time he made the Principal's List! They do percentage grading rather than what base schools do like 'O = Outstanding, G = Good' etc, which is very vague for a student. They can't progress with that. The teachers were excellent. The entire school strived for excellence for the student, not the school's benefit, as it should be. They allowed the kids to want to better themselves and enjoyed it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

great school, at the time my kids were there-they were one of the top schools in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Bell Fork is a superior school for learning. The faculty and staff collaborate towards every students success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2003

Bell Fork is a wonderful school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female52%
Male46%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female52%
Male36%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female44%
Male40%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female47%
Male47%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female57%
Male54%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students36%
Female52%
Male19%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically gifted64%

Science

All Students59%
Female61%
Male56%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 26%
White 27% 52%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Gregory J Williams
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 347-6555

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Bell Fork Road
Jacksonville, NC 28540
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 347-4459

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Village Academy
Jacksonville, NC


Clyde Erwin Elementary
Jacksonville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT