Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwoods Elementary

Public | K-5 | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2012

They go out of their way and do things that I've never seen other schools do but on the other hand the misbehaving students and their parents who don't care add to an atmosphere that is not condusive to success . The principle and staff work very hard to keep students safe and protected. I have personally seen the Principal himself as well as a good portion of staff fanning out, even crossing the street in the afternoons to asist walkers. It is actually a beautiful thing to see a staff that goes so far out of their way to get students safely on their way. On the other hand, many of the teachers are actually so run down by bad behaving students and their parents that (some of) the teachers have just given up and still some other teachers have become mean and lack any patience what so ever.The term "burned out" comes to mind. The Building itself is mostly old, dark and dank and it cooled by window A/C units. The only redeaming quality is that there are some very good teachers who care and a Principal who is clearly trying! I don't even know if you can blame all the teachers who do care but just don't know what else to do because the parents don't teach respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

My daughter is in the EC program an NWEM The EC teachers are EXCELLENT - the most caring teachers I have met!! I feel we are part of a team working together. The school has helped my daughter and our family in many ways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I would love to hear some personal stats to support your 'this is a great school and the staff are so supportive'. Trust me....I want to love this school, but I haven't encountered any evidence that can support what a 'wonderful' school NWES is. My son's 1st 1/4 at NWES he earned honor roll and not so much as even a 'I have an honor roll student at NWES' bumper sticker was awarded to him for his accomplishment! That right there shows one small way in which this school is LACKING. I am considering an out of district transfer for next year....which saddens me b/c attending the school in which he is assigned is much more convenient than arranging transportation to a better school. I will be speaking with the principal's before the year is over so they are aware of the dissatisfaction of some parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I am not pleased with having to deal with certain issues. You stay in contact with the teachers they wait until the last minute to tell you what is actually going on with your child. You e-mail you do everything to support your childs education. They still treat you as if you are not involved. This is my childs first year it's seems forever. Not happy at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

This is a terrific school. The faculty and staff work deligently to help the students reach their potential.


Posted July 18, 2008

Our 2 kids started mid-year at Northwoods, coming from out of state. We were pleased with the attention they received from teachers and the principal. Education is clearly a top priority here at this diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My chil has attended this school since first grade, I used to think it was pretty well staffed, until I actually had to deal with some very distorded issues. I guess that my esteem for this school has really gone down this year. Still I hope I am dealing with only the minority. So very disapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

Great for Hearing Impaired students
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students9%
Female9%
Male9%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students13%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English9%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students11%
Female9%
Male13%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students16%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students11%
Female5%
Male15%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White12%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students14%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students17%
Female20%
Male15%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled students19%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students20%
Female7%
Male33%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students20%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female7%
Male41%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students24%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students26%
Female11%
Male41%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students26%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 26%
White 38% 52%
Hispanic 14% 14%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Elbert Garvey
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 347-2939

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

617 Henderson Drive
Jacksonville, NC 28540
Phone: (910) 347-2808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Parkwood Elementary
Jacksonville, NC


Grace Baptist School
Jacksonville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT