Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southwest High 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a student
Few teachers are passionate and most staff, if not all, have strong favoritism. They allow kids to slack off and barely pass. Only a handful of staff treat everyone equally. There's a new teacher every year and has too many bomb threats. The county changed math curriculums out of the blue not giving the students or teachers enough time to change schedules. There were 2 student deaths and only one (popular football player) was honored and had money raised for funeral. Students have not enough time to eat due to slow and inexperienced lunch ladies every week. Some students don't get picked up, dropped off or both due to sudden bus changes and replacement bus drivers every so often. There is poor, slow, and not up to date computers available. I would not recommend these reasons.

Southwest High 3

Posted July 16, 2013
- a student
I graduated from Southwest this year & I could honestly tell you I wouldn't have wanted to graduate any other school in Onslow County. The principal for the past few years has made the entire student body into one big family, along with the support of our two fallen students who we have lost this same year. The faculty & staff have been strict & hardworking, but there were a few who I could comfortably come to with a personal problem.


Southwest High 3

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
I am glad of the change in principles. Over the last year the school has improved. I get call backs and concerns from the principle when I call about any problems or issues. My daughter likes the change of principles also and feels he cares about the students. She has been to him several times about incidents involing other students, and he has taken immediate action. He also doesn't hesitate to go into the classrooms to visit or question teachers if he hears of concerns. I think over time he will make it a better place.

Southwest High 2

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southwest High 1

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This school was much better before the change the Principle. The new one is over bearing and seems to only want to turn the school into a jail house and not a learning institution.


Southwest High 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2008
- a parent
The teachers and student take great pride in there school and it shows in the students they put into our community. This school by far is the #1 high school in Onslow county.

Southwest High 2

Posted March 23, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Southwest High 5

Posted November 03, 2004
- a parent
The academic opportunities at Southwest High are varied. Honors and AP classes are offered to qualified students. Aside from the academics, Southwest High has a wonderful 'family' feel about it. Southwest is a very close-knit community, and this is reflected in the relationships not only between the students, but also the staff. Athletics are a HUGE part of school life at Southwest. At least one of my children has been in the school since 1998. The football team has made 3 appearances at the state championship game, and has won it twice. The girl's soccer team has been to the playoffs the last 3 years. They had never been prior to that time. Basketball, Volleyball, Baseball, Softball, Track, Golf, etc. have all done well at Southwest. I no longer live in the Southwest district, but completed an out-of-district request to keep my daughter here. I wouldn't have her any place else.


Southwest High 5

Posted August 12, 2004
- a former student
Southwest High School has a great tradition. This school in many peoples opinion is the best school in Onslow County of North Carolina. Southwest has great principals and good teachers. It's a 2A school on the verge of breaking a 3A school, but it packs a big punch of student athletes. Southwest is probably one of the most safest schools that a school can get. So basically all in terms, Southwest High should be at the top of your list.

Southwest High 5

Posted July 31, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest High
1420 Burgaw Highway, Jacksonville, NC  28540
(910) 455-4888
Last modified Southwest High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southwest High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top