Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Jacksonville, NC
Students enrolled: 513

2 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southwest Middle 1

Posted January 03, 2011
- a parent
This school is horrible at best! Admin/staff teacher to test for EOG's while neglecting the basic's to prepare students for High School. Admin seem to have no people skills, and to hear the way they speak to students, makes you wonder who it was that hired them for the position they hold!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you can, move to a different location so that your son or daughter can attend a school better than this one!!!!!!!!!!

Southwest Middle 1

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This school would be a excellent learning facility 'if' the leadership staff would be changed and better qualified teachers were hired. Go stand in any hall and you'll here teachers yelling completely out of control at students... I've done it before and heard for myself. Then, if the student(s) decide to defend themselves. A sure trip to the office is in order only for the assistant principal to 'always' find fault in the student. Onslow County needs a 'secret monitor to sit in or be 'allowed' to watch what happens and report back to the Board of Education. This should happen in all Onslow County Schools. I rate this school a 1 star, with reservations...


Southwest Middle 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school and the teachers communicate with families on a regular basis. The teachers are very caring and have innovative teaching techniques. I am very happy with this school, both my boys have attended for 6th, 7th and 8th grades. My children love it.

Southwest Middle 1

Posted July 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southwest Middle 1

Posted May 09, 2008
- a parent
This school doesn't communicate well to parents and to each other. My sons says his homeroom teacher is mean and the assistant principal needs to do her job!!! Bullying is handled in an inappropriate manner and overall attitude of staff seems poor. Differences in students are seen as negative-shame on this school.


Southwest Middle 1

Posted March 22, 2008
- a parent
My all A report card daughter has been getting worse grades, the teachers there, she says is mean, ( Which I have met the teachers, and they have a bad attitude) She's found many cockroaches and bugs in her school, too. Her life is miserable thanks to South West Middle School

Southwest Middle 2

Posted May 07, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Southwest Middle 5

Posted January 22, 2006
- a parent
This seems to be a well rounded school. This is my first year with a child in middl eschool, however the school has been very involved with my child. They are very organized and seem to be in touch with all that goes on around the campus. I give the school an overall rating of A+.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwest Middle
3000 Furia Drive, Jacksonville, NC  28540
(910) 455-1105
Last modified Southwest Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southwest Middle Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top