Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Bridge Middle

Public | 6-8 | 520 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

My son is currently in the 6th grade and all of us truly enjoy the school. The first nine weeks are almost over and he still goes on about how much he loves middle school. He has been offered tutoring when struggling and pulled a math grade from a C to an A. Thank you to Mrs. St. Andrews! They are doing a great job at teaching the kids responsibility and accountability. Like skills they will need outside of the classroom. Spirit week, fun runs, and Halloween dances are thrown in to help keep the atmosphere fun. The school is older and it's evident when you walk in, but it has a very traditional, small town, and family like feel to it. Officer Davis is in the school every day and interacts with the students and parents on a daily basis. This brings a comforting sense of security to my mind. We are very blessed to have the opportunity to attend New Bridge and are very hopeful the positiveness continues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

My son would be very excited at the beginning of school anticipating all the different assignments and experiments the teachers had raved about but a month or so into the school year some of his teachers would be demoralized and simply handed out worksheets for the students to work on. This was explained away as"some of you were acting up therefore I am taking away the fun stuff from all of you" kind of thing. My son rapidly lost interest in his school activities as you can imagine. Also academics doesn't seem to be honored here. They have an award ceremony with clubs/athletics primarily receiving awards while academic awards are hurriedly passed out at the very end of the night when they didn't even have any actual awards left to give as they had already been given to the club/athletics people. I questioned the administration and was told that high school is where the academics is honored and they thought time was better spent honoring the others who wouldn't rate then.I thought school was primarily about academics and learning achievements but the message is clear here: be popular, be athletic, participate fully in extracurriculars and you are the perfect NB Bear!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

My child is leaving the 8th grade in a few days and is so prepared for high school. We considered home school three years ago, thank goodness we made the decision to go to Newbridge. They are serious about school and serious about getting our kids ready for high school. When they call home about issues, they mean business. I was always able to stand behind the decisions of the principals and teachers. We love Newbridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

My son gets in the car after school each day and tells me why he loves his school. He has never done this before this year. I am impressed with New Bridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

I went in to talk with the principal Dr. Barnes today about an issue with my son. He was responsive, professional and knew what he was talking about. He also connected me to the counselor Mrs. Bidner. She too was very helpful. As a parent I felt welcome and my student is well served at New Bridge school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

Our son will start 7th grade this year. The only problem with the school is that our daughter will be in 6th grade when he goes to 9th grade and they don't honor "legacy" so we will have to take our chances to get in with the lottery again. We couldnt be happier with the school. The teachers and principal communicate, they are approachable, and they have high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Hands down the best middle school in the Jacksonville, NC area. Here, the students actually care (because they're the best the area's got to offer) and if they slip up here, they'll be sent off to one of the other schools like Jacksonville Commons where that school will be forced to deal with all the "problematic" kids. There is structure and administration with a backbone in place here...basically, if you can get in (there is limited space)...do it! I am an ex-teacher from this area and know what I'm talking about. The location may be in an older part of the city, but unlike JCMS (which looks new), this school's cover cannot be judged by the outside appearance. A 5 star school...at least for the state of NC.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2010

Compared to all of the middle schools in the Jacksonville area we were fortunate (lucky) to have our child attend New Bridge for his 7th and 8th grade. The teachers were very involved and helpful when it comes to parent and teacher communication. Having that one on one communication with the teacher via email was important. Our child was both challenged and given the opportunity to express his points of view. The teacher to student ratio was about 15 to 20. All of the teachers and staff were very helpful. The students had great camaraderie.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

New Bridge is a great school, with wonderful caring teachers. My only complaint is the projects! It is the 2nd week of school and my daughter has already had 2 projects due this week. I beleive that the kids can learn the same material w/o all the projects. However I will try to get my son in when he gets old enough. :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

My son attended NBMS 6th, 7th, and 8th grade and there are not enough words to describe how we feel about this school. He loved this school and just started 9th grade and is so prepared for high school. The teachers are so together and friendly. The principal and asst. are awesome. He wishes that they had a high school as well as the kids that went there with him. It was worth the commute everyday although the bus comes and picks the kids up. If our daughter does not get in we will be devastated. They are #1 in the county in their scores and the kids take such great pride in this school. Go Go Go if you get the chance. You will not regret it!!!!!! Denise Rhodes BEARS HAVE PRIDE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My daughter attended NBMS for the sixth, seventh and eighth grade years of middle school. She definitely increased her academic abilties under the guidance, tutelage and direction of the teachers and staff at the school. The concentration on Math, Science and Language Arts has definitely provided her the educational background, firm standards and confidence to begin her high school years beginning this fall. The three year experience at NBMS taught her to be academically responsible, scholastically prepared, administratively organized and a good citizen. Our family has a heartfelt appreciation for the professionalism of the Principal, his staff and all of the teachers at the school. Thank You.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I LOVED going to NBMS! It was the best years of my life and I will never forget it! The teachers are AWESOME! Everyone should go here! New Bridge is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2008

Awesomeist School Ever! My daughter goes there and its the best thing thats ever happened 2 her! =) <3 ya
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

Thank God For New Bridge! Best school in onslow county! This school is full of teachers and staff who actually care about the kids. I was ready to move out of Onslow County because of the school system when my son was accepted into New Bridge and so far I am extremely happy with this school. If you live in onslow county it is worth trying to get into New Bridge. This school is full of extracurricular activities from sports to music and art. The bottom line is New Bridge is everything I could want or need for my children in a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

This is an awesome school! I am in 8th grade this year and all of my teachers do a great job of keeping us on track and making sure we do our best. My mom used to teach at New Bridge so I have been fond with the school for many years. You also make great friends from many counties that you would have never made if you didn't go to the Magnet School. NBMS always gets great EOG scores and they have a pletora of activities for you to do after school or even during school. If you want to know more, go to http://www.onslow.k12.nc.us/nbms/
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

My daughter is in her first year at this school and I am very impressed. This is a wonderful school and the staff are doing a great job. My daughter is doing well and she loves the school pride that this school shows..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This is just a great school. My daughter love the school and the teachers. The teachers keep you well informed. Just a great learning environment overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

New Bridge is a great school. I feel safe in it. The teachers take the time to explain everything! I feel great going to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2007

I am a former student of new bridge. I have nothing bad at all to say about the school. The teachers seemed like they wanted their students to succeed. The academics are great along with the activities.I recommend this school over the other middle schools in Jacksonville.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 26, 2007

My daughter is in her first year at this school and I can't even begin to tell you how wonderful this school is. My daughter loves going to school and is doing very well in this school. I look forward to the rest of this school year and the next two years she has at Newbridge. I wish it was a high school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female39%
Male44%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female52%
Male45%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students34%
Female36%
Male32%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial55%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students33%
Female33%
Male34%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracial17%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically gifted85%

Reading

All Students46%
Female53%
Male38%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted82%

Science

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial75%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students79%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students83%
Female85%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Academically gifted93%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 52%
Black 27% 26%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Chris Barnes
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 346-5402

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 New Bridge Street
Jacksonville, NC 28540
Phone: (910) 346-5144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Baptist School
Jacksonville, NC


Northwoods Park Middle
Jacksonville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT