Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Childrens School

Private | PK-4, 6 | 121 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jacksonville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

We've been at this school for almost a decade and have to wonder at the negative reviews. Every experience in life depends in large part on what you bring to it. Montessori is more than a teaching method - it is a lifestyle. Parents who understand & choose it for their families are happy to volunteer and help their child choose healthy snacks for their classmates when it is their "turn" in the rotation. We both work full time and have always had far more than 30 hours of volunteer time. We work with our children, their directresses, and the school in general so that our kids see what it means to be part of a community & how important it is to contribute time and talent. The directresses are highly trained & certified and the individual attention they provide is second to none. If you are looking for a place where your child will be constantly "graded" against their peers, or where you are expected to send your child to school & wash your hands of involvement then this is not the best fit for your family. If you are considering the school, schedule a visit and ask to talk to families who have been here for awhile. Educate yourself on the Montessori method. You won't be disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

I agree with the last review. It sees to me that this school only care about the money and not the student at all! Classroom are crowded! Is a small daycare! For that amount money they ask, and keep asking through the year! Snacks, donations every single month, 10$ a hour per 30 hours a year each family need to pay or volunteer your time to fix a school that YOU ARE PAYING FOR! And Montessori? Really that only using their name but they are not REALLY Montessori. If Maria Montessori would be alive she would be ashamed of this school!!!! I'm glad my kids are out of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2013

Coming into this school from another Montessori school I was certain it would be great. However, this school is not a Montessori accredited school. Please do your research. There are 33 children in one classroom with only ONE Montessori certified teacher and 2 that are not certified in the Montessori method. This classroom does not hold true Montessori standards. My children report that they are bored and rarely get individual interaction with a teacher even when requested. I am given no feedback as to their progress and have asked repeatedly. Not only are there tuition costs; but families are also required to purchase snacks for the entire class and also perform 30 volunteer hours or pay $10 each hour. I would gladly remove my children from this school but I will then be billed an additional 90 days tuition. Since my children have been at this school teachers are constantly changing. This school was once a hidden gem, but now under the new 2013 administration it is only about maximizing the classroom size to increase the funding. l should have followed in the footsteps of the many families that wisely left last year! Don't waste your time here!


Posted November 3, 2013

As a Directress at the Montessori Children's School, I am surprised at the reviews suggesting there is not enough training and "triple" class sizes! Our classrooms have 25 children, and have always had 25 children (since before the new head of school was in place). The Directresses and Directors are all certified. The assistants are not certified, but they each work with Montessori certified leads. We attend more training and have received more wonderful equipment for our classes under our new head of school. Everyone is welcome to attend our training and we often travel to receive more training. The classroom size is ideal, the teachers are trained and certified (and receive training on a regular basis). If we need new materials because something is broken or lost, we simply ask for it. I have a classroom of happy and healthy children with happy parents! Our school is a beautiful campus unlike any other in the area! Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

I absolutely adore this school and school community! The teachers my son is with everyday are loving and sweet. He is learning to read and comes home excited each day. Yes, he is with 3-6 year olds, as a Montessori child should be. I would expect you do some research before you complain that your child is a mixed age class. If you are looking for an affordable, beautiful, loving school... This is it. I am happy to provide snacks, volunteer for the classroom and pay the (cheap) tuition. If you research other Montessori schools, this one is dirt cheap! I cannot say enough about the amazing staff. This isn't just another pre-school. This is a quality Montessori environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Not sure of the previous parents surprise that there are 3, 4 and 5 year olds in the same class. If they had done any research into Montessori, they would have known that the Primary class consists of 3, 4 and 5 year olds (Pre-K & K); lower elementary consists of 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade, etc. One of the beauties of the program is the younger children are inspired by older students. Older students show responsibility and mastery of work by helping younger students. The Montessori curriculum not only provides the educational component but the social one as well. The teachers love & respect their students and it shows with the deep bonds they form. The teachers will communicate and share their knowledge of Montessori if asked. But interested parents need to remember that this is Montessori and take it upon themselves to work with staff & educate themselves on how to incorporate Montessori philosophy into their lives. While the class sizes have grown over the past few years, I believe the new administrator is working to solve this issue. This school has truly been a blessing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

This school discriminates against children with disabilities and screens students (and their family) during the interview. If you don't fit their image, your child will NOT be selected for admission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

love this school and so does my 5 year old! Great environment for to days child to grow in. The teachers and staff are all great and provide the students with an ideal Montessori environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

I agree that this school is great FOR SOME children. Montessori is not for everyone. If you child is able to work on his/her own and control his/her behavior with little correction then this is a great school. However a child who is needs discipline and guidance would not do well here. The teachers are very nice and love the kids 100%. But know that they do not really discipline the children, it is a very independent environment and they expect the kids to govern themselves. While I like the idea, it only suites a small percentage of kids. You have to guage your child and how his/her personality is. If he/she is outspoken, is defiant, rambunctious and/or likes being the center of attention...this is NOT this school for him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

You will not find a school of this caliber anywhere else in Onslow County, it is quite simply THE BEST! Love for this tiny little gem is apparent from the first time you drive on to campus; happy parents, teachers that live and love what they do and, most importantly, children that love to learn. I can not say enough about the Montessori Children's School, every aspect of our experience with the school has been first rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

As a military spouse, I do not know how I would have survived without the Montessori Childrens School the past six years living in a remote place with a husband deployed most of the time! The quality of education is not to be matched in the area, and the community is incredibly supportive to local and military families alike! I recommend the school without a single reservation for children as young as one up to the age of 12. My children love going to school every day of the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

What a treasure! Affordable tuition! Parental involvement is welcomed. The new Natural Learning Pavillion is state-of-the-art. Every Directress is well choosen and uniquely qualified. The parents have an auction each year that nets over 40 thousand dollars. The Jacksonville community supports the school in many ways.


Posted February 8, 2010

We absolutely love the school. Hands on learning gives children a realization which is attainable only through this technique. The teacher experience and knowledge is outstanding. The structure allows children to grow while being confident, an asset which will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

We sent our oldest here for preschool (4 years ago), never expecting to continue once he reached public school age. That opinion changed quickly! The educational opportunities are wonderful and our children are thriving; truly developing a love of learning and an awareness of the world around them. Tuition is reasonable for a Montessori School, best investment we could give our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

This school exists for the purpsoe of teaching in the Montessori style. Kids at all ages are involved in hands-on activities covering a diverse range of subjects, from the usual reading and writing and math to botany, geology, world traditions, languages, and sciences. There are frequent programs like the recent Fall Festival and International Day which involve the entire complement of students and teachers. Parents are expected to be very involved with the school, and a certain amount of volunteer time by the family of each enrolled child is expected as part of the admissions agreement. This can also be met via monetary donation. Extracurricular activites are somewhat limited, as it's a small school, but the in-classroom oppoortunities are amazing. All the staff are trained in the Monessori method. Highly recommended! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 53%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 7% 11%
Black 2% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Tagalog
Hindi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15am
School end time
  • 2:45pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hindi
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

714 Bates St
Jacksonville, NC 28540
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 938-3826

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Grace Baptist School
Jacksonville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT