Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles E Boger Elementary

Public | K-5 | 788 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

We hope, for several reasons, this will be our one and only year at this school. My child's teacher is very unorganized and communication with multiple levels of staff have varied from uncaring to rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I am very disappointed with this school. Worst communication ever. Anytime I have questions or concerns, they are not addressed or taken seriously. I wanted my child at an elementary school where the staff was friendly and welcoming. I wanted my child to feel safe and feel comfortable there. My child hates school and dreads going. It breaks my heart. We are looking into a new school for next year. Time for this school to do some serious damage control because it has an awful reputation now. No way would I recommend anyone send their child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

CONTINUED... We never even got a phone call! My daughter came home completely emotional and frightened. The principal was aware of the documented assaults, conferences, and proposed "solutions" and refused to remove my child from this class! After filling a SECOND formal complain on bullying, we were told we would hurt the school's "blemish free" record and politely asked to refrain from unnecessarily involving the district. Again. We have pulled them from this school and REFUSE to go back. My kids will attend a school next year where the academic scores might me slight lower, but where they don't fear for their lives! I've been as positive towards this school as I can force myself to be. If I listed all the details, you would be COMPLETELY HORRIFIED of this school! I have NO problem giving Charles E. Boger Elementary school a 1 star rating. And that's ONLY sure to the fact my other children finished this school alive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

My child is in the 2nd grade at this school. I am very disappointed with the communication or lack thereof. We have older children that and have had many teachers over the years. Our 2nd grade teacher is the worst I have ever had. She is overwhelmed and borderline being abusive of the children. We are moving just to get out of this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

My child has been at Boger since Kindergarten. During the first two years, my sense of the school was that while it had an enthusiastic parent organization and caring teachers, its academic program was mediocre and lackluster. For instance, I had the impression that the only math my child got exposed to during those first years was number facts. I also struggled with what I thought were teachers overly strict interpretation of FERPA laws which made it impossible for children and families to get to know each other and build a learning community. This year, we have a teacher who has not only gone the extra mile to create a strong partnership with families, but her academic curriculum is also rich and integrated. (To be fair, this great experience also coincides with the school's active implementation of Common Core Standards, which in and of themselves focus on integration of skills.) My child also feels valued, challenged, and loves science and math in ways she never did before. In fact, if all I had to go on was this year, I would give Boger a five-star rating. In other words, the quality of your child's education here will depend on the teacher. Everything else is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Our 3rd year at Boger. I have a child finishing grade 2 and one finishing Kindergarten. Only really have positive things to say about our experience. The school as a whole has provided an excellent education for my children. They enjoy school and share with me daily all that they have learned each day. I feel they are challenged and given individual attention as needed. I am a working mom so do not visit the school much, but feel welcome when I do visit. The teachers ALL have responded to my notes, emails, and phone calls promptly and clearly. In another 2 years, I will have a 3rd child at this school and look forward to that time without reservations. My experience with each individual teacher has been different, but the quality of education and their safety overall has remained top notch, which is what is important to me for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Glad that the year is over. Not much comunication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

I believe that Boger is a great school. There is excellent communication and an awesome prinicipal that runs a tight ship. The teachers and students know what is expected of them. My children have received an excellent education and we look forward to many more positive years there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2009

Well my daughter started kindergarten at Boger last year and has had nothing but wonderful experiences there. She had a great kindergarten teacher and now has a terriffic 1st grade one. She has learned tons and both of her teachers had open door policies. I was at the school a lot and never felt that I wasn't wanted there. Last year was the first year so you have to expect things to go wrong. No one but God is perfect. My daughter loves going to school. It has been a very positive experience. As for younger children I have one and whenever I volunteer at the schol I make sure she is at preschool or wiht a family member. It is to big of a distraction having a smaller child in an older childs class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

My daughter is in 1st grade at Boger Elementary. I have been very disappointed with the communication, and very impressed with the level of flexibility in academics. So I have very mixed feelings about my experience. It is extremely hard to be an involved parent at Boger. The school does not have an open door policy (they claim because of security reasons) The teachers a will not tell you when your child will be out of routine for an assembly, or if there are visitors at those assemblies or in the classroom. As a parent you are on a need to know basis. Younger children are only welcome if you are visiting for lunch. Forget about getting in contact with other parents from your child's classroom. You cannot get phone numbers or send a note through the classroom-even if you are volunteering your own phone number and address.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I have two daughters, 11 months apart, my first daughter attended Kindergarten the first year Boger was open and now she's in first grade and my 2nd daughter is in kindergarten now. I have been very impressed with the school and how they do things there. The teachers are very organized and the principle is always available to talk if there's a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female57%
Male55%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students56%
Female57%
Male55%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female48%
Male61%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities23%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted95%

Reading

All Students48%
Female42%
Male53%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female43%
Male43%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female56%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted91%

Science

All Students54%
Female55%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 52%
Black 11% 26%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Field Avenue
Kannapolis, NC 28081
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 788-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT